Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

UN Conference at the Highest Level on the World
Financial and Economic Crisis and Its Impact on Development, 24-26 June 2009


24 June 2009 | 25 June 2009 | 26 June 2009

Thursday, 25 June 2009
3rd plenary meeting 10 a.m - 1 p.m. General Assembly Hall
4th plenary meeting 3–6 p.m. General Assembly Hall
5th plenary meeting 6–9 p.m. General Assembly Hall

Statements by Heads of State or Government, ministers and heads of delegation.

Round tables

Print version Documento PDF

Round Table 2 Thursday, 25 June 2009 10 a.m. to 1 p.m. Conference Room 4

Theme: Coordinated and collaborative actions and appropriate measures to mitigate the impact of the crisis on development.

Chairs: H.E. Mr. Tongloun Sisoulit, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Lao People’s Democratic Republic; and H.E. Mr. Jean Asselborn, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of Foreign Affairs and Immigration of Luxembourg.


Mr. Supachai Panitchpakdi, Secretary General of the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development.

Ms. Noeleen Heyzer, Executive Secretary of UN Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific of the United Nations.

Mr. Martin Khor, Executive Director of the South Centre.

Mr. Robert Johnson, Former Chief Economist of the US Senate Banking Committee and former Senior Economist of the US Senate Budget Committee.

Mr. Yaga Venugopal Reddy, Former Governor of the Reserve Bank of India.

Round Table 3 Thursday, 25 June 2009 3 to 6 p.m. Conference Room 4

Theme: Present and future impacts of the crisis on, inter alia, employment, trade, investment and development goals and the Millennium Development Goals.

Chairs: H.E. Dr. Diego Borja, Minister of Coordination of Economic Policy of the Republic of Ecuador; and H.E. Mr. Bert Koenders, Minister for Development Cooperation of the Kingdom of the Netherlands.


Mr. Abdoulie Janneh, Executive Secretary of the UN Economic Commission for Africa.

Mrs. Valentine Rugwabiza, Deputy Director-General of the World Trade Organization.

Mr. Sha Zukang, UN Under-Secretary-General of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs.

Ms. Navanethem Pillay, UN High Commissioner for Human Rights.

Mr. Stephen Pursey, Director Policy Integration Department of the International Labour Organization.

Mr. Francois Houtart, Emeritus Professor of the Catholic University of Louvain (Belgium); founder of the Tricontinental Center (New Louvain).