Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

General Debate of the 63rd Session

Millennium Development Goals - 25 September 2008

The High-level Event on the MDGs, convened by the Secretary-General and the President of the General Assembly, brought together world leaders, private-sector representatives and civil-society partners to discuss specific ways to energize collaboration.

Thursday, 25 September 2008

10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. - Morning Session

  • TAJIKISTAN - H.E. Mr. Emomali Rahmon, President of Tajikistan
  • THE FORMER YUGOSLAV REPUBLIC OF MACEDONIA - H.E. Mr. Branko Crvenkovski, President of the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
  • SEYCHELLES - H.E. Mr. James Alix Michel, President of Seychelles
  • ARMENIA - H.E. Mr. Serz Sargsyan, President of Armenia
  • MARSHALL ISLANDS - H.E. Mr. Litokwa Tomeing, President of Marshall Islands
  • COMOROS - H.E. Mr. Ahmed Abdallah Sambi, President of Comoros
  • EQUATORIAL GUINEA - H.E. Mr. Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo, President of Equatorial Guinea
  • KIRIBATI - H.E. Mr. Anote Tong, President of Kiribati
  • SAO TOME AND PRINCIPE - H.E. Mr. Fradique Bandeira Melo de Menezes, President of Sao Tome and Principe
  • SIERRA LEONE - H.E. Mr. Ernest Bai Koroma, President of Sierra Leone
  • IRAQ - H.E. Mr. Jalal Talabani, President of Iraq
  • PALAU - H.E. Mr. Elias Camsek Chin, Vice-President of Palau
  • ANTIGUA AND BARBUDA - H.E. Mr. Winston Baldwin Spencer, Prime Minister of Antigua and Barbuda

3:00 p.m. - 7:00 p.m. - Afternoon Session

  • MICRONESIA - H.E. Mr. Emanuel Mori, President of the Federated States of Micronesia
  • GUINEA-BISSAU - H.E. Mr. João Bernardo Vieira, President of Guinea-Bissau
  • SWAZILAND - His Majesty King Mswati III, Head of State of Swaziland
  • TIMOR-LESTE - H.E. Mr. José Ramos-Horta, President of Timor-Leste
  • ZIMBABWE - H.E. Mr. Robert Mugabe, President of Zimbabwe
  • CAMEROON - H.E. Mr. Paul Biya, President of Cameroon
  • PAKISTAN - H.E. Mr. Asif Ali Zardari, President of Pakistan
  • SUDAN - H.E. Mr. Ali Osman Mohamed Taha, Vice-President of Sudan
  • SPAIN - H.E. Mr. José Luis Rodríguez Zapatero, President of the Government of Spain
  • JAPAN - H. E. Mr. Taro Aso, Prime Minister of Japan
  • KUWAIT - His Highness Sheikh Nasser Al-Mohammad Al-Ahmad Al Jaber Al-Sabah, Prime Minister of Kuwait
  • REPUBLIC OF KOREA - H.E. Mr. Han Seung-soo, Prime Minister of the Republic of Korea
  • BRUNEI DARUSSALAM - His Royal Highness Prince Haji Al-Muhtadee Billah, Crown Prince of Brunei Darussalam
  • AUSTRALIA - H.E. Mr. Rudd, Prime Minister of Australia
  • ANDORRA - H.E. Mr. Albert Pintat, Chief of the Government of Andorra
  • SAN MARINO - H.E. Mr. Fiorenzo Stolfi, Head of Government and Minister for Foreign Affairs and Political Affairs and Economic Planning of San Marino
  • NORWAY - H.E. Mr. Jens Stoltenberg, Prime Minister of Norway
  • SAINT KITTS AND NEVIS - H.E. Mr. Denzil Douglas, Prime Minister of Saint Kitts and Nevis
  • NETHERLANDS - H.E. Mr. Jan Peter Balkenende, Prime Minister of the Netherlands