General Committee (Composition) - 60th session of the United Nations General Assembly
UN HomeGeneral Assembly HomePresidentJournalWebcast


The General Committee is composed of the President and 21 Vice-Presidents of the Assembly and the Chairmen of the six Main Committees.

President: H.E. Mr. Jan Eliasson (Sweden)


  • Angola
  • Armenia
  • Brazil
  • Central African Republic
  • China
  • France
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • India
  • Iran
  • Israel
  • Kenya
  • Malaysia
  • Mali
  • Myanmar
  • Pakistan
  • Paraguay
  • Russian Federation
  • Tunisia
  • United Kingdom
  • United States
  • Venezuela

Chairmen of Main Committees:

  • Choi Young-jin (Republic of Korea), First Committee (Disarmament and International Security)
  • Aminu Bashir Wali (Nigeria), Second Committee (Economic and Financial)
  • Francis K. Butagira (Uganda), Third Committee (Social, Humanitarian and Cultural)
  • Yashar Aliyev (Azerbaijan), Fourth Committee (Special Political and Decolonization)
  • John William Ashe (Antigua and Barbuda), Fifth Committee (Financial and Budgetary)
  • Juan Antonio Yanez-Barnuevo (Spain), Sixth Committee (Legal)