2007年3月8日

联合国妇女地位委员会
争取平等、发展与和平的六十年

  联合国自1945年在旧金山签署《联合国宪章》之时起,即开始致力于妇女地位的提高。《宪章》序言宣告了“基本人权、人格尊严与价值,以及男女与大小各国平等权利……”的信念。

  为了在全世界推动提高妇女地位,联合国于1946年成立了妇女地位委员会。委员会于1947年2月在纽约成功湖举行了第一次会议。

  委员会初期着重在全世界采取法律措施保护妇女人权和提高人们对妇女地位和状况的认识。委员会的辩论使得一些人们所不熟悉的问题跻于国际政治舞台。委员会的工作从一开始就得到日趋强大的国际妇女运动的关心、参与和支持。

  到1960年代中期,委员会开始关注妇女在经济和社会发展中的作用问题。发展中国家的代表们特别提请大家注意农村地区的妇女状况,以及加强农村妇女的贡献、解决农村妇女的紧迫问题和满足她们各种需求的必要性。

  1975年,联合国应委员会和非政府组织的呼吁,以“平等、发展与和平”为题举办了国际妇女年活动。这一年的最重要活动是在墨西哥城召开了第一届全球妇女大会,通过了旨在改善妇女地位的全球行动计划。

  1976-1985年联合国妇女十年和此后的历次世界妇女问题大会,开创了空前的变革势头。1995年在北京通过的《行动纲要》巩固了委员会工作所取得的共识和承诺。

  主要成就

  委员会在其六十年历程中取得了重大成就。委员会确保将男女平等的各项规定列入《世界人权宣言》——这是争取平等斗争的一个里程碑。

  1979年,经过委员会四年筹备工作,联大通过了历史性的《消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约》(《消除对妇女歧视公约》)。这项具有划时代意义的公约于1981年生效,截至2007年2月初已有185个国家批准了该公约。1999年联大又通过了该公约任择议定书。截至2007年2月初,已有84个国家加入该文书,表明各国政府有意愿恪守该公约的各项规定。

  这项公约是对世界各地妇女的激励。公约对各国制定法律和政策的工作产生了积极影响。例如,为此加强宪法规定,成立立法审查委员会和制定临时特别措施,增进妇女在各个领域的参与。

  委员会在促进国家一级和联合国系统内性别主流化方面发挥了至关重要的作用。人们可以从经社理事会其他职司委员会对性别观点的关注程度、从经社理事会在促进性别主流化和监测其实施情况方面发挥的作用、从联大在妇女人权方面从事的工作、并从安全理事会在妇女、和平与安全方面从事的开拓性工作中看到这些积极成果。

  委员会继续提供宝贵机会,使各国得以通过审议中主题的互动专家讨论会和年度会议与会高级代表的圆桌会议,交流思想、经验、良好做法和所获教训,以更好地履行各项承诺。

  妇女问题世界会议

  委员会为组织1975年在墨西哥、1980年在哥本哈根、1985年在内罗毕和1995年在北京召开的各次妇女问题世界会议和就此采取后续行动,作出了决定性贡献。这几次世界会议启动了一个重要和持续不断的循环,即研究和分析;制定目标;进度审查以找出成绩、差距和障碍;以及更新和扩大各项承诺。

  这几次世界会议还提供了一个论坛,使各妇女组织得以扩大对联合国工作安排的参与并在这方面拥有更大的发言权。在妇女十年期间,参与委员会工作的非政府组织数目大幅增加。

  过去十年来,委员会在其各次年度会议上有系统地审查了《行动纲要》所确定的十二个重点关注领域的实施进展情况,并为推动实施通过了各项行动建议。

  委员会担任了2000年6月联大第二十三届特别会议《行动纲要》实施情况五年期审查的特设筹备委员会。会议的成果列明了长期存在的差距和挑战,并为确保充分执行1995年在北京作出的各项承诺提出了新的行动建议。

  2005年,委员会第四十九届会议对实施情况进行了十年期审查,显示虽然在国家一级取得了进展,而且可以看到各区域在12项优先领域的每一项中都取得了成果,但各领域仍存在严重的障碍和挑战。

  会员国在十年审查期间通过的宣言中,重申了《北京宣言和行动纲要》和联大第二十三届特别会议的成果,并保证确保予以充分和加快实施。

  新的挑战和机会

  2000年9月,世界领袖们共同出席了联合国千年首脑会议,强调了他们对促进两性平等和增强妇女力量的承诺。2005年世界首脑会议再次表示决心消除对妇女的歧视,并重新对性别主流化战略作出承诺。

  《行动纲要》仍是促进两性平等和增强妇女力量的全球政策框架,也是会员国、联合国、国际机构、区域机构和民间社会组织的工作指南。《消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约》提供了规范性框架。妇女地位委员会第四十九届会议确认了这两项文书之间的相互促进作用,消除对妇女歧视委员会也经常对此予以强调。妇女地位委员会面临的一项重大挑战是确保各国就其执行现行政策建议和人权标准情况承担责任。

  千年发展目标框架通过围绕各项有时限和可衡量的目标动员各国政府、国际组织和非政府组织,并通过在国家发展规划和报告工作中进一步突显性别问题,为委员会工作提供了新的机会,有助于同新伙伴发展联盟关系和进一步获得资源。

  妇女地位委员会一直在全球锲而不舍地倡导两性平等和增强妇女力量。委员会为交流国别经验和良好做法,并为让联合国听到妇女运动的声音提供了独特的空间。委员会将继续发挥其重要领导作用,确保联合国工作对各国妇女生活产生积极影响,并继续成为促进两性平等和增强妇女力量的驱动力量。

  联合国经济及社会事务部提高妇女地位司向妇女地位委员会提供了实质性秘书处支助。

  有关妇女地位委员会的更多信息可在www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/csw查阅。

  联合国出版物

  《妇女地位委员会关于北京行动纲要重点关注领域的商定结论汇编, 1996-2005年》(2006年,纽约:提高妇女地位司)

  《消除对妇女一切形式歧视公约及其任择议定书》(2004年,纽约:提高妇女地位司)

  《妇女迈向全球:联合国和国际妇女运动,1945-2000年》,互动多媒体光盘。(2002年,纽约:提高妇女地位司)

  《北京宣言和行动纲要及北京会议五周年政治宣言和成果文件》。(2001年,纽约:提高妇女地位司)

  《联合国和提高妇女地位,1945-1995年》联合国蓝皮书丛编,第六卷修订本(1996年,纽约)

8 March 2007

THE UNITED NATIONS COMMISSION ON THE STATUS OF WOMEN
60 years of work for equality, development and peace United Nations 

60 years of work for equality, development and peace

CSW: Fifty-first Session, 26 February - 9 March 2007The United Nations commitment to the advancement of women began with the signing of the United Nations Charter in San Francisco in 1945. Its Preamble declared faith "in fundamental human rights, in the dignity and worth of the human person, in the equal rights of men and women and of nations large and small"

In 1946 the Commission on the Status of Women was established to promote the advancement of women throughout the world. The Commission met for the first time at Lake Success, New York, in February 1947.

Initially, the Commission focused on legal measures to protect the human rights of women and awareness-raising on the status and situation of women around the world. Debates in the Commission brought unfamiliar issues into the international political arena. From the very beginning, the work of the Commission attracted the interest, participation and support of the growing international women's movement.

By the mid 1960s, the Commission had begun to address women's role in economic and social development. Delegates from developing countries drew attention in particular to the situation of women in rural areas and the need to enhance their contributions and address their priorities and needs.

In 1975, at the urging of the Commission and non-governmental organizations (NGOs), the United Nations observed International Women's Year with the theme "Equality, Development and Peace". The culmination of the year was the first global Women's Conference in Mexico City which adopted a global plan of action to improve the status of women.

The United Nations Decade for Women from 1976-1985, and the following world conferences on women, created an unprecedented momentum for change. The Platform for Action adopted in Beijing in 1995 consolidated the consensus and commitments achieved through the work of the Commission.

Major achievements

The Commission's 60-year history is marked by significant achievements. The Commission ensured that provisions for equality between women and men were included in the Universal Declaration of Human Rights - a milestone in the struggle for equality.

In 1979, after four years of preparatory work by the Commission, the General Assembly adopted the historic Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women (CEDAW). This landmark treaty entered into force in 1981 and by early February 2007 had been ratified by 185 countries. The Optional Protocol to the Convention, was adopted by the General Assembly in 1999. The fact that 84 States were party to this instrument by early February 2007 attests to the willingness of Governments to adhere to the terms of the Convention.

The Convention has been an inspiration for women in all parts of the world. It has had a positive impact on legal and policy development at national level, for example through the strengthening of provisions in constitutions, the establishment of commissions to review legislation, and the development of temporary special measures to enhance women's participation in different areas.

The Commission has played a critical catalytic role in promoting gender mainstreaming at national level and within the United Nations system. The positive outcomes can be seen in the attention to gender perspectives in other functional commissions of ECOSOC, the role ECOSOC plays in promoting and monitoring the implementation of gender mainstreaming, the work of the General Assembly on the human rights of women, as well as the path-breaking work of the Security Council on women, peace and security.

The Commission continues to provide unique opportunities for exchange of ideas, experiences, good practices and lessons-learned to enhance implementation of commitments at national level, through interactive expert panels on the themes under consideration and roundtables for high level representatives attending the annual sessions.

World conferences on women

The Commission has made a decisive contribution in organizing and following-up the world conferences on women in Mexico in 1975, Copenhagen in 1980, Nairobi in 1985 and Beijing in 1995. The world conferences set in motion an important and continuing cycle of research and analysis; goal-setting; progress review to identify achievements as well as gaps and obstacles; and renewal and expansion of commitments.

The world conferences offered a forum in which women's organizations could broaden their participation and increase their voice in shaping the work of the United Nations. The number of NGOs involved in the work of the Commission grew dramatically during the Decade for Women.

Over the past ten years the Commission has systematically reviewed progress in implementation of the twelve critical areas of concern identified in the Platform for Action at its annual sessions, and has adopted recommendations for action to facilitate increased implementation.

The Commission acted as the Ad-hoc Preparatory Committee for the five-year review of implementation of the Platform for Action in the 23rd special session of the General Assembly in June 2000. The outcome identified persistent gaps and challenges and provided new recommendations for action to ensure full implementation of the commitments made in Beijing in 1995.

The ten-year review of implementation held during the 49th session of the Commission in 2005 indicated that while progress had been made at national level and gains could be seen in relation to each of the 12 priority areas in all regions, serious obstacles and challenges were reported in every area.

In the Declaration adopted during the ten-year review, Member States reaffirmed the Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action and the outcome of the 23rd special session of the General Assembly and pledged to ensure their full and accelerated implementation. 

New challenges and opportunities

World leaders assembled at the United Nations Millennium Summit in September 2000, emphasized their commitment to promote gender equality and empowerment of women. The 2005 World Summit reiterated this resolve to eliminate discrimination against women and renewed commitment to the gender mainstreaming strategy.

The Platform for Action continues to represent the global policy framework for gender equality
and empowerment of women and guides the work of Member States, the United Nations, international and regional bodies, and civil society. The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women provides the normative framework. The synergies between the two instruments were recognized by the Commission on the Status of Women in its 49th session and are regularly highlighted by the Committee on the Elimination of Discrimination against Women. A major challenge for the Commission is ensuring accountability for implementation of existing policy recommendations and human rights standards at national level.

The framework of the Millennium Development Goals provides new opportunities for the Commission's work through mobilization of governments, international organizations and NGOs around time-bound, measurable targets, and through increasing the visibility of gender issues in national development planning and reporting, facilitating the development of alliances with new partners and increasing access to resources.

The Commission on the Status of Women has been an untiring advocate for gender equality and empowerment of women across the globe. It has provided a unique space for exchange of national experience and good practice and for bringing the voices of the women's movement to the United Nations. The Commission will continue to play a critical leadership role to ensure that the work of the United Nations has a positive impact on the lives of women at country level and remains a driving force for gender equality and empowerment of women.

The United Nations Division for the Advancement of Women (DAW) in the Department of Economic and Social Affairs provides substantive secretariat support to the Commission on the Status of Women.

Further information on the Commission on the Status of Women is available on
www.un.org/womenwatch/daw/csw.

United Nations publications

Agreed Conclusions of the Commission on the Status of Women on the Critical Areas of Concern of the Beijing Platform for Action, 1996-2005
(New York: Division for the Advancement of Women, 2006).

The Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Discrimination against Women and its Optional Protocol (New York: Division for the Advancement of Women, 2004).

Women Go Global: The United Nations and the International Women's Movement, 1945-2000, An interactive, multimedia CD-ROM (New York: Division for the Advancement of Women, 2002).

Beijing Declaration and Platform for Action with the Beijing +5 Political Declaration and Outcome Document (New York: Division for the Advancement of Women, 2001).

The United Nations and The Advancement of Women, 1945-1995. The United Nations Blue
Books Series, Volume VI, Rev. Ed. (New York, 1996).