联合国审查从各个方面防止、打击和消除小武器和轻武器非法贸易的行动纲领执行进度会议,2006年6月26日至7月7日 纽约
严厉打击小武器非法贸易 链接到小武器招贴画 联合国主页
2006年小武器问题审议大会
首页
议程
工作方案
相关文件
筹委会干事
与会者名单
会议报告
发言链接到发言稿: www.un.org/events/smallarms2006/statements.html
新闻稿新闻稿
网络直播
媒体核证
认可非政府组织参加*
附带活动*
相关活动*
秘书处*
 

*为英文内容

 
 
 

普拉萨德·卡里亚瓦萨姆大使的简历

  普拉萨德·卡里亚瓦萨姆于1981年进入斯里兰卡外交部,曾在斯里兰卡驻日内瓦代表团、利雅得、华盛顿和新德里任职,在新德里任大使衔副特派员。他还曾担任斯里兰卡大使衔常驻联合国日内瓦办事处代表、斯里兰卡驻瑞士总领事和斯里兰卡国家元首派驻15国集团的代表。他现任斯里兰卡派驻纽约的大使衔常驻联合国代表。

  他曾在外交部联合国和不结盟事务司、政治事务(西方)司和行政司任职并曾担任外交部长特别助理。他还曾担任南亚司司长职务,并以新闻司司长身份出任外交部官方发言人。他在赴纽约任职前曾担任经济事务司总干事和外交部辅助秘书。

  他曾代表斯里兰卡出席在日内瓦、纽约、维也纳和亚洲、欧洲和美洲其他几个地点举行的有关各个问题的多次国际会议、联合国会议和不结盟运动会议。

  卡里亚瓦萨姆先生是斯里兰卡出席在日内瓦举行的联合国人权委员会第五十三、五十四和五十五届会议的副代表,并率领斯里兰卡观察员代表团出席了人权委员会第五十七和五十八届会议。在日内瓦联合国人权委员会第五十九届会议上,卡里亚瓦萨姆先生当选第五十九届会议副主席并参加了扩大主席团。在2001年德班举行的反对种族主义世界会议上,他当选主要委员会副主席。2003年,他当选保护所有移徙工人及其家庭成员权利委员会成员,最初任期两年。他在委员会首次创始会议上被选为委员会主席,目前仍在担任该职务。卡里亚瓦萨姆先生曾当选2004年人权条约机构主席会议和委员会间会议的主持人。他还是联合国调查以色列侵害占领区巴勒斯坦人民和其他阿拉伯人人权的行为特别委员会主席。

  他曾是参加联合国裁军研究金方案的研究员,是1984年至1987年斯里兰卡出席日内瓦联合国裁军谈判会议的代表,2001年至2003年为代表团团长。卡里亚瓦萨姆先生还曾在裁军谈判会议2001年秋季会议和2002年会议上被任命为促进裁军谈判会议更好有效运作的特别协调员。他曾是联合国小武器问题专家组成员,该小组1997年就这个问题向联合国大会提出了报告。他还参加了联合国裁军和发展之间关系政府专家组,该小组向2004年的联合国大会提出了报告。卡里亚瓦萨姆先生目前已获认可而成为2006年联合国审议执行从各个方面防止、打击和消除小武器和轻武器非法贸易的行动纲领进展情况的会议候任主席。

  卡里亚瓦萨姆先生曾是斯里兰卡出席联合国大会第五十届和六十届会议、以及货币基金组织/世界银行第五十届年会的代表团成员。他曾是出席 1997年联合国大会法律委员会会议的代表,那次会议最后确定了联合国《制止恐怖主义爆炸的国际公约》。他曾作为斯里兰卡代表出席联合国大会第一委员会会议,还是出席联合国国际恐怖主义问题特设委员会会议的代表。卡里亚瓦萨姆先生曾在国际移徙组织第五十届年会上,当选该组织2001-2002年度国际组织委员会主席。2002年至2003年,他是联合国贸易和发展会议全球贸易优惠制度参加国委员会主席,也是贸发会议形式4 (自然人为提供服务而流动) 下市场准入问题专家组主席。2002年,他还参加了在达沃斯举行的世界经济论坛年度会议。

  卡里亚瓦萨姆先生生于1954年3月21日。已婚,有一子一女。

United Nations Conference to Review Progress Made in the Implementation of the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat, and Eradicate the Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All Its Aspects, NY, 26 June - 7 July 2006
Crush the Illicit Trade in Small Arms Link to Small Arms Review Conference poster United Nations logo
UN Small Arms Review Conference 2006
Programme of Work
Official Documents
Officers of the Conference
Provisional List of Participants
Report of the Meeting
Statements Access Statements through URLS: www.un.org/events/smallarms2006/statements.html
Press Material Access press material through URLs: www.un.org/events/smallarms2006/press-kit.html, www.un.org/events/smallarms2006/press-conf.html, www.un.org/events/smallarms2006/press-releases.shtml, www.un.org/events/smallarms2006/news.shtml
UN Webcast
Media Accreditation
NGO Accreditation
Conference Side Events
Related Events

Biographical Notes on Ambassador Prasad Kariyawasam

            Prasad Kariyawasam joined the Sri Lanka Foreign Service in 1981 and has held diplomatic assignments at Sri Lanka Missions in Geneva, Riyadh, Washington and New Delhi, in the latter as the Deputy High Commissioner for Sri Lanka in India, holding the rank of an Ambassador.  He also served as the Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Sri Lanka to the UN in Geneva, Consul General of Sri Lanka to Switzerland and Personal Representative of the Head of State of Sri Lanka to the G-15.  And at present he is the Ambassador, Permanent Representative of Sri Lanka to the UN in New York.

          At the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, he had assignments in the Divisions of UN and Non-Aligned, Political Affairs (West), Administration, and as the Special Assistant to the Foreign Secretary.  He also held the post of the Director of the South Asia Division and was the Official Spokesperson of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs in the capacity of Director of Publicity.  Prior to his assignment to New York he held the position of Director General of the Economic Affairs Division and as an Additional Secretary in the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

          He has represented Sri Lanka at several international, UN and Non-Aligned Movement Conference on various issues held in Geneva, New York, Vienna and in several other venues in Asia, Europe and America.
         Mr. Kariyawasam was the Alternate Representative of Sri Lanka at the 53rd, 54th and 55th Sessions of the UN Commission for Human Rights (CHR) held in Geneva and led the observer delegation of Sri Lanka to the 57th and 58th Sessions of CHR. At the 59th Session of the UN Commission on Human Rights in Geneva, Mr. Kariyawasam was elected as a Vice-Chairperson and served in the Expanded Bureau of the 59th CHR.  At the World Conference against Racism held in Durban in 2001, he was elected as the Vice-Chair of the main Committee.  In 2003, he was elected to the UN Committee on the Protection of the Rights of All Migrant Workers and Members of Their Families for an initial term of two years.  At the first inaugural session of the Committee, he was selected as its Chairperson, the post of which he holds at present. Mr. Kariyawasam was also elected as the Chair of the 2004 sessions of the Chairperson of the Human Rights Treaty Bodies and Inter-Committee Meetings.  He is also the Chairperson of the United Nations Special committee to Investigate Israel Practices Affecting the Human rights of the Palestine People and other Arabs of the Occupied Territories.

            He followed the UN disarmament Fellowship Programme and was a delegate of Sri Lanka at the UN Conference on disarmament in Geneva from 1984 to 1987 and led the delegation from 2001 to 2003. Mr. Kariyawasam was also appointed as the Special Co-ordinator for improved and effective functioning of the Conference on Disarmament at its Fall Session of 2001 and for the year 2002.  He was a member of the United Nations Panel of Experts on Small Arms, which produced a report on the subject to the UN General Assembly in 1997.  He also served in the UN Group of Governmental Experts on the Relationship between Disarmament and Development, which reported to the 2004 UNGA. Mr. Kariyawasam has now been endorsed as the President-designate of the 2006 UN Conference to Review Progress in the Implementation of the Programme of Action to Prevent, Combat and Eradicate Illicit Trade in Small Arms and Light Weapons in All its Aspects.

            Mr. Kariyawasam was a member of the Sri Lanka delegation to the 50th and the 60th anniversary of the United Nations General Assembly and to the 50th Anniversary Session of the annual IMF/World Bank meetings. He was a delegate to the Legal Committee of the UNGA in 1997, which finalised the UN Convention for Suppression of Terrorist Bombings.  He was Sri Lanka's Representative to the 1st Committee of the UNGA and a delegate to the UN Ad Hoc Committee on International Terrorism.  Mr. Kariyawasam was elected as the President of the Council of the International Organization for Migration for the years 2001-2002 at its 50th anniversary session.  He chaired the Global System of Trade Preferences (GSTP) Committee of Participants in the UNCTAD and chaired the UNCTAD Expert Group on Market Access Issues in Mode 4 (Movement of Natural Persons to Supply Services) in the year 2002 – 2003.  In the year 2002 he also participated at the annual session of the World Economic Forum held in Davos.

            Mr. Kariyawasam was born in 21st March 1954.  He is married and has a son and a daughter.





Website development: UN Web Services Section, Department of Public Information, United Nations © 2006