* 英文 

s

  “在我绝望的时候,我就会想到,在人类历史上,真理和爱总是赢得胜利。暴君和屠夫似乎得逞一时,但最终总是失败-我们要始终记着这一点。”不管制造疯狂毁灭的是用极权主义的名义还是用自由民主的神圣名义,对于死者、孤儿和无家可归者来说又有什么分别?
以眼还眼会弄瞎全世界的眼睛。
有许多事业可以让我愿意为它们献身,但是没有一个事业可以让我为它杀人。”
圣雄甘地,我的真理实践经历,1927。

国际非暴力日
2007年10月2日

  2007年10月2日将成为第一个国际非暴力日,这一天是印度独立运动领袖以及非暴力思想和策略的创始人圣雄甘地的生日。

这个纪念日由大会2007年6月15日A/RES/61/271号决议决定,其中表示将在国际日“传播非暴力的信息,包括通过教育和提高公众认识的方式”。该决议重申“非暴力原则的普遍重要意义”以及“巩固和平、宽容、谅解和非暴力文化”的愿望。

  印度外交部长阿南德·夏尔马先生代表140个共同提案国在大会提出该决议时指出,决议的提案国广泛而分散,反映了对圣雄甘地的普遍尊敬,也反映了他的思想持久不衰的重大意义。他引述这位已故领袖的话说:“非暴力是人类可以使用的最强大力量。非暴力的力量比人类发明的最厉害的毁灭性武器更强大”。

" When I despair, I remember that all through history the way of truth and love has always won. There have been tyrants and murderers and for a time they seem invincible, but in the end, they always fall — think of it, always. What difference does it make to the dead, the orphans, and the homeless, whether the mad destruction is wrought under the name of totalitarianism or the holy name of liberty and democracy?

An eye for an eye makes the whole world blind.

There are many causes that I am prepared to die for but no causes that I am prepared to kill for."

Mahatma Gandhi
The Story of My Experiments with Truth, 1927

International Day of Non-Violence, 2 October 2007

The first International Day of Non-Violence will be marked on 2 October 2007, the birthday of Mahatma Gandhi, leader of the Indian independence movement and pioneer of the philosophy and strategy of non-violence.

According to General Assembly resolution A/RES/61/271 of 15 June 2007, which established the commemoration, the International Day is an occasion to "disseminate the message of non-violence, including through education and public awareness". The resolution reaffirms "the universal relevance of the principle of non-violence" and the desire "to secure a culture of peace, tolerance, understanding and non-violence".

Introducing the resolution in the General Assembly on behalf of 140 co-sponsors, India’s Minister of State for External Affairs, Mr. Anand Sharma, said that the wide and diverse sponsorship of the resolution was a reflection of the universal respect for Mahatma Gandhi and of the enduring relevance of his philosophy. Quoting the late leader’s own words, he said: "Non-violence is the greatest force at the disposal of mankind. It is mightier than the mightiest weapon of destruction devised by the ingenuity of man".