

INDIGENOUS PEOPLES INDIGENOUS VOICES

PROGRAMME

High-level Commemoration of the Fifth Anniversary of the adoption of the United Nations Declaration on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples

Thursday, 17 May 2012 10am-1pm Conference Room 1

- 1. Ceremonial sound by *Mr. Roberto Mukaro Borrero* (Taino) President of the United Confederation of Taino Peoples
- 2. Welcome by *Mr. Jomo Kwame Sundaram*, Assistant Secretary-General for Economic Development
- 3. Statement by *H.E. Mr. Nassir Abdulaziz Al-Nasser*, President of the 66th session of the General Assembly
- 4. Video Statement by *H.E. Mr. Ban Ki-Moon*, Secretary-General of the United Nations
- 5. Statement by *Mr. Ivan Šimonović*, Assistant Secretary-General of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights
- 6. Statement by *H. E. Mr. David Choquehuanca*, Minister of Foreign Affairs of the Plurinational State of Bolivia
- Message by *H.E. Mr. Danilo Turk*, President of Slovenia and Former Member of the Working Group on Indigenous Populations read by *H.E. Ms. Sanja Štiglic*, Permanent Representative of Slovenia to the United Nations
- 8. Statement by *Grand Chief Edward John*, Chairperson of the UN Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues
- 9. Statement by *H.E. Mr. Luis Chavez*, Former Chairperson of the Working Group on Indigenous Populations
- 10. Statement by *Chief Wilton Littlechild*, Chair of the Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples
- 11. Statement by *H.E. Mr. Gary Quinlan*, Permanent Representative of Australia to the United Nations





United Nations Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues



- 12. Statement by the Indigenous Peoples Caucus of Asia
- 13. Statement by the Special Rapporteur on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, Mr. James Anaya
- 14. Statement by the Indigenous Peoples Caucus of the Arctic
- 15. Statement by Mr. German Muenala, Advisor, Ministry of Culture and Heritage of Ecuador
- 16. Statement by the Indigenous Peoples Caucus of Africa
- 17. Statement by H.E. Mr. Carsten Staur, Permanent Representative of Denmark to the United Nations
- 18. Statement by the Indigenous Peoples Caucus of South, Central America and the Caribbean
- 19. Statement by Ms. Jodi Gillette, Senior Policy Adviser for Native American Affairs, White House Domestic Policy Council, United States of America to the United Nations
- 22. Statement by the Indigenous Peoples Caucus of Eastern Europe, Central Asia and Transcaucasia
- 23. Statement by *Mr. Janne Taalas*, Deputy Permanent Representative of Finland to the United Nations
- 24. Statement by the Indigenous Peoples Caucus of North America
- 25. Statement by H.E. Mr. Miguel Berger, Deputy Permanent Representative of Germany to the United Nations
- 26. Statement by the Indigenous Peoples Caucus of the Pacific
- 27. Statement by *Mr. Carlos Garcia*, Deputy Permanent Representative of El Salvador to the United Nations.
- 28. Statement by the Indigenous Women Caucus
- 29. Statement by H.E. Mr. Alfonso de Alba, Permanent Representative of Mexico to the United Nations
- 30. Statement by the Indigenous Youth Caucus
- 31. Statement by H.E. Mrs. María Rubiales de Chamorro, Permanent Representative of Nicaragua to the United Nations
- 32. Statement by Norway
- 33. Statement by European Union