## Thematic Debate "The UN and Global Economic Governance"

## New York, United Nations, 15 April 2013

## (NLB, Conference Room 4)

This event will be broadcast live. Link available at: <a href="http://webtv.un.org">http://webtv.un.org</a>

## **Programme**

9:30 - 11:00	Opening
	1. H.E. Mr. Vuk Jeremic, President of the General Assembly
	2. H.E. Mr. Ban Ki-moon, United Nations Secretary-General
	High-level remarks
	3. H.E. J.M. Barroso, President of the European Commission
	4. H.E. Ali Babacan, Deputy Prime Minister of Turkey
	5. H.E. Alfredo Moreno, Foreign Minister of Chile
	6. H.E. Abul Maal A Muhith, Minister of Finance of Bangladesh
	7. H.E. Heikki Holmas, Minister of International Development of Norway
	8. H.E. Valentin Rybakov, Deputy Foreign Minister of Belarus
	9. President of the ECOSOC, H.E. the PR of Colombia
	10. <b>Mr. Siddharth Tiwari</b> , Director, Strategy, Policy, and Review Department, International Monetary Fund
	11. <b>Mr. Harsha V. Singh</b> , Deputy Director General, World Trade Organization
	12. <b>Mr. Zia Qureshi</b> , Director, Strategy and Operations, Office of the Senior Vice President and Chief Economist- Development Economics, The World Bank
11:00 - 12:30	Interactive Debate between Member States, introduced by a statement by H.E. the PR of Singapore on behalf of the G3
13:00 - 15:00	break
15:00 (sharp) -	Briefing by Ms. Ksenia Yudaeva, G20 sherpa of Russia
16:00	followed by interactive debate with Member States

16:00 - 18:00	Interactive Panel Debate
	- Taking stock of the changes in the global economic governance system (lessons learned from the economic, financial and debt crises and best practices of G20 outreach)
	- Ways in which communication between G20 and non-G20 could be regularized
	- The future of global economic governance and the General Assembly
	Moderator: ASG Shamshad Akhtar, United Nations
	Panelists:
	1. Shaukat Aziz, former Prime Minister of Pakistan
	2. Nicolas Berggruen, President of Berggruen Holdings and the Nicolas Berggruen Institute
	3. Ian Bremmer, President of Eurasia Group
	4. Dr. Gordon de Brouwer, Sherpa of the incoming Australian G20 Presidency
	5. Jeffrey Sachs, Columbia University
18:00	Concluding remarks
	H.E. Mr. Vuk Jeremic, President of the General Assembly