International Conference on Financing for Development

Monterrey, NL, Mexico. 18-22 March 2002


Roundtables : Thursday :

FfD Conference Event:
Ministerial Roundtable C3 Thursday am:
Looking Ahead

Roundtable Co-chairs

Costa Rica : H.E. Mr. Miguel Ángel RODRIGUEZ, President
Peru : H.E. Mr. Alejardro TOLEDO, President
World Trade Organization (WTO) : Mr. Michael MOORE, Director-General

Government Participants

* African States - 13
Angola, Burundi, Congo, Egypt, Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Lesotho, Madagascar, Mauritius, Somalia, Swaziland
* Asian States - 13
Cambodia, China, Indonesia, Iraq, Japan, Marshall Islands, Qatar, Republic of Korea, Saudi Arabia, Yemen
* Eastern European States - 5
Azerbaijan, Belarus, Estonia, Georgia, Hungary
* Latin American and Caribbean States - 9
Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname,Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay, Venezuela
* West European and other States - 7
Austria, Canada, Greece, Italy, Netherlands, Norway, Portugal, Turkey

Institutional Stakeholder Participants

* United Nations
* World Bank
* International Monetary Fund (IMF)
* World Trade Organization (WTO)**
* International Fund for Agricultural Development (IFAD)
* European Commission
* Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development / Development Assistance Committee (OECD/DAC)
* Common Fund for Commodities

Business Sector Participants

* Violy Byorum & Partners Holdings Ms. Violy McCausland SEVE, President -- United States
* United Bank of the Philippines Mr. Victor VALDEPEÑAS, President -- Philippines
* Samuels Associates Ms. Barbara SAMUELS, President -- United States
* COPARMEX Mr. Jorge ESPINA REYES, Chair -- Mexico
* Infrastructure Leasing and Financial Services Mr. K. RAMCHAND, Chief Executive Officer (Infrastructure) -- India
* BRED Banque Populaire Mr. Steve GENTILI, President -- France
* Zurich Group Mr. David HALE, Chief Economist -- Switzerland

Civil Society Participants

* International Confederation for Free Trade Unions (ICFTU) / ORIT  Mr. Luis ANDERSON, General Secretary -- International
* International Council for Social Welfare (ICSW) Mr. Qazi Faruque AHMED, Executive Director -- Bangladesh
* Liberal Society Institute Ms. Oksana KISSELYOVA, Executive Director -- Ukraine
* South African Council of Churches (Ecumenical Team) Mr. Molefe TSELE, General Secretary -- South Africa
* Development Alternatives with Women for a New Era (DAWN) Ms. Marina DURANO, Policy Researcher -- Philippines
* Rural Reconstruction Nepal Mr Arjun K. KARKI, President -- Nepal
* African Women's Economic Policy Network (AWEPON/Ecuteam) Ms. Hellen WANGUSA, Director -- Uganda
Participants wishing to follow the proceedings of the round tables may do so in the overflow rooms in Cineteca I and Cineteca II (Conference Rooms 8 and 9). A shuttle bus will run approximately every fifteen minutes from in front of the Cintermex to the Cineteca and Centro de los Artes (Conference Room 10). In addition, provisions are being made to broadcast the plenary sessions in the morning and in the afternoon to Conference Room 7 (Main Committee Room).

Provisions are being made to bradcast the round tables of today to the Media Center.

Access to the round tables: each registered participant is invited to access the round table rooms (Conference Rooms 2 and 3) accompanied by her/his advisor (two for delegations and one for inter-governmental and non-governmental organizations and business.