International Conference on Financing for Development

Monterrey, NL, Mexico. 18-22 March 2002


Roundtables : Thursday :

FfD Conference Event:
Ministerial Roundtable C1 Thursday pm:
Looking Ahead

Roundtable Co-chairs

Belgium: H.E. Mr. Guy VERHOFSTADT, Prime Minister
Spain: H.E. Mr. José María AZNAR LÓPEZ, Prime Minister
World Bank: Mr. James WOLFENSOHN, President

Government Participants

* African States - 13
Algeria, Botswana, Cameroon, Comoros, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Kenya, Malawi, Nigeria, Senegal, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Togo
* Asian States - 14
Bangladesh, India, Jordan, Maldives, Nepal, Singapore, Syrian Arab Republic, Viet Nam
* Eastern European States - 6
Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Poland, Russian Federation, The Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia
* Latin American and Caribbean States - 8
Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana,
* West European and other States - 7
Australia, Belgium**, New Zealand, Spain **, Sweden, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Nothern Ireland, United States of America

Institutional Stakeholder Participants

* United Nations
* World Bank**
* International Monetary Fund (IMF)
* World Trade Organization (WTO)
* World Health Organization (WHO)
* United Nations Development Programme (UNDP)
* OPEC Fund for International Development

Business Sector Participants

* CEMEX Lorenzo ZAMBRANO, Chair -- Mexico
* Cisneros Mr Gustavo CISNEROS, Chairman -- Venezuela
* GF Securities Yunxian CHEN, Chairman -- China
* ONDEO Suez Mr Gerard PAYEN, Senior Executive Vice-President -- France
* Institute of Liberty and Democracy Mr Hernando DE SOTO, President -- Peru
* Standard & Poor's Mr Leo O'NEILL, President -- United States
* Total Fina Elf Mr Jean Pierre LABBE, Deputy Director of Institutional Relations -- France

Civil Society Participants

* Canadian Labor Congress Mr. Kenneth V. GEORGETTI, President -- Canada
* Country Women Association of Nigeria (COWAN) Ms. Chief Bisi OGUNLEYE, Executive Coordinator -- Nigeria
* Jubilee Debt Program Ms. Ann PETTIFOR, Director / Head Coordinator -- United Kingdom
* Mexican Action Network for Free Trade (RMALC) Mr. Alejandro VILLAMAR, Executive Committee Member -- Mexico
* International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU/Africa) Mr. Sylvestre TEMBOL, Secretary General -- Africa
* Center for Development Studies / NGO Arab Network for Development Mr. Adib NEHME, Director - Lebanon
* Asociacion Nacional de Economistas y Contadores de Cuba
Participants wishing to follow the proceedings of the round tables may do so in the overflow rooms in Cineteca I and Cineteca II (Conference Rooms 8 and 9). A shuttle bus will run approximately every fifteen minutes from in front of the Cintermex to the Cineteca and Centro de los Artes (Conference Room 10). In addition, provisions are being made to broadcast the plenary sessions in the morning and in the afternoon to Conference Room 7 (Main Committee Room).

Provisions are being made to bradcast the round tables of today to the Media Center.

Access to the round tables: each registered participant is invited to access the round table rooms (Conference Rooms 2 and 3) accompanied by her/his advisor (two for delegations and one for inter-governmental and non-governmental organizations and business.