International Conference on Financing for Development

Monterrey, NL, Mexico. 18-22 March 2002


Roundtables : Tuesday :

FfD Conference Event:
Ministerial Roundtable A2 Tuesday am:
Partnerships in Financing Development

Roundtable Co-chairs

Uruguay : Dr. Didier OPERTTI-BADAN, Minister of Foreign Affairs
Asian Development Bank : Mr. Myong-Ho SHIN, Vice President

Government Participants

* African States - 13
Burundi, Comoros, Congo, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Djibouti, Eqypt, Eritrea, Gambia, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Tunisia, Uganda, Zimbabwe
* Asian States - 14
Bahrain, Iraq, Kuwait, Lao People's Democratic Republic, Madives, Nepal, Mynmar, Syrian Arab Republic
* Eastern European States - 6
Croatia, Ukraine
* Latin American and Caribbean States - 9
Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Uruguay**
* West European and other States - 7
Denmark, Israel, Italy, Malta, Monaco, New Zealand, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Norther Ireland

Institutional Stakeholder Participants

* International Monetary Fund (IMF)
* World Bank
* Asian Development Bank (ADB)
* Economic and Social Commission for Asia and the Pacific (ESCAP)**
* Financial Stability Forum (FSF)
* Food and Agricultural Organization (FAO)
* Organization of Economic Co-operation for Development (OECD)
* United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD)

Business Sector Participants

* Evian Group Mr. Jean-Pierre LEHMANN, Co-Founder -- Switzerland
* Grameen Phone Mr. Iqbal QUADIR, Founder -- Bangladesh
* Grupo Emyco Mr. Felipe Pablo MARTINEZ TREVINO, Chair -- Mexico
* Potomac Associates Mr. Hani FINDAKLY, Chairman and Chief Executive Officier -- United States
* Samuels Associates Ms. Barbara SAMUELS, President -- United States
* Moody's Investors Service Ms. Chee Mee HU, Senior Vice-President for Project Finance -- United States
* Uganda Small Business Enterprise Mr. Vincent SSENYONDO, President -- Uganda

Civil Society Participants

* Action Aid Ms. Louise HILDITCH, Head of Brussels Office -- United Kingdom
* Bisan Centre for Research & Development Mr. Izzat Abdel HADI, Director -- Palestine
* International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU) Ms. Gemma ADABA, UN Representative -- Trinidaa and Tobago
* KULU Women in Development / WEDO Ms. Janice GOODSEN-FOERDE, Chairperson / Senior Advisor -- Denmark
* Melinda and Bill Gates Foundation Ms. Sylvia MATHEWS, Executive Vice President -- United States
* Quaker United Nations Office (QUNO) Ms. Lori HENINGER, UN Representative - United States
* Ubinig Mr. Farhad MAZHAR, Director -- Bangladesh