Biographies

Round table 2: Ensuring policy coherence and an enabling environment at all levels for sustainable development

14 July 2015, 10:00am - 1:00pm



Mr. Min ZHU assumed the position of Deputy Managing Director on July 26, 2011. Previously he served as Special Advisor to the Managing Director of the International Monetary Fund from May 2010 to July 2011. He was a Deputy Governor of the People's Bank of China. He was responsible for international affairs, policy research, and credit information. Prior to his service at China's central bank, he held various positions at the Bank of China where he served as Group Executive Vice president, responsible for finance and treasury, risk management, internal control, legal and compliance, and strategy and research.



Mr. Thabo Mbeki served two terms as the second post-apartheid President of South Africa from June 1999 to September 2008. He was the President of the African National Congress from 1997 to 2007. He held the position of Chairperson of the African Union from 2002 to 2003. He headed the formation of both the New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD) and the African Union (AU) and has played influential roles in brokering peace deals in Rwanda, Burundi, Côte d'Ivoire and the Democratic Republic of Congo. He also worked to bring the 2010 World Cup to the African continent for the first time. He holds a Masters Degree in Economics from Sussex University.



Mr. Guy Ryder was elected as the 10th ILO Director-General by the ILO's Governing Body in May 2012 and took office on 1 October 2012. From 1985, he held the position of Secretary of the Industry Trade Section of the International Federation of Commercial, Clerical, Professional and Technical Employees (FIET) in Geneva. In 1988, he became Assistant Director and – from 1993 - Director of the Geneva office of the International Confederation of Free Trade Unions (ICFTU). He first joined the International Labour Organization in 1998 as Director of the Bureau for Workers' Activities and, from 1999, as Director of the Office of the Director-General. In 2002, he was appointed General Secretary of the ICFTU. He was elected as first General Secretary of the International Trade Union Confederation (ITUC) when it was created in 2006.



Ms. Phumzile Mlambo-Ngcuka is UN Under-Secretary-General and Executive Director of UN Women since August 2013. She has worked in government and civil society, and with the private sector, and was actively involved in the struggle to end apartheid in her home country of South Africa. From 2005 to 2008, she served as Deputy President of South Africa, overseeing programmes to combat poverty and bring the advantages of a growing economy to the poor. Prior to this, she served as Minister of Minerals and Energy from 1999 to 2005 and Deputy Minister in the Department of Trade and Industry from 1996 to 1999. She was a Member of Parliament from 1994 to 1996 as part of South Africa's first democratic government.



Joseph E. Stiglitz is University Professor at Columbia University and also the founder and Co-President of the university's Initiative for Policy Dialogue, and a member and former chair of its Committee on Global Thought. In 2001, he was awarded the Nobel Prize in economics for his analyses of markets with asymmetric information, and he was a lead author of the 1995 Report of the Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change, which shared the 2007 Nobel Peace Prize. He is now serving as President of the International Economic Association. He alsdo chairs a High Level Expert Group at the OECD attempting to advance further these ideas. He serves on numerous boards, including the Acumen Fund and Resources for the Future. He graduated from Amherst College and received his PHD from MIT.



Mr. José Antonio Ocampo is Co-President of Initiative for Policy Dialogue at Columbia University and Professor of Professional Practice in International and Public Affairs. He currently holds the positions as director of the Economic and Political Development Concentration in the School of International and Public Affairs and Member of the Committee on Global Thought. He is also the Chair of the Committee for Development Policy, an expert committee of the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC). Before, he served as UN Under-Secretary General for Economic and Social Affairs; Executive Secretary of the Economic Commission for Latin America and the Caribbean, and Minister of Finance and Public Credit in Colombia, among other positions.



Mr. Wellington Chibebe was elected Deputy General Secretary of the ITUC in 2011 and was re-elected again in 2014. Prior to taking up that position, he served as Secretary General of the Zimbabwe Congress of Trade Unions (ZCTU). He joined the ZCTU in 2001 having previously served as President of the national Railway Workers' Union, which he joined in 1988 after serving his apprenticeship as a diesel plant fitter. He represented Zimbabwe's trade union movement on numerous occasions at the annual ILO International Labour Conference and various other major international meetings. He was awarded the inaugural Arther Svensson International Award for Trade Union Rights by the Norwegian

Chemical Workers' Federation in 2010.