经济和社会事务副秘书长沙祖康先生在北京2008残疾人奥运会《残疾人权利公约》纪念墙揭幕仪式上的致辞
2008年8月30日,北京

在这个欢聚的时刻,国际社会在此见证纪念墙的揭幕,表达对联合国《残疾人权利公约》的支持。首先,请允许我向成功组织这次纪念活动的中国政府、中国残疾人联合会、北京残奥会组委会和国际残奥会委员会表示热烈的祝贺!

《残疾人权利公约》是第一个全面、广泛保障残疾人权利的国际法律文件。经过国际社会经年的不懈努力,《公约》于2006年在联合国大会上获得通过。从《公约》的酝酿到成功结束谈判,中国政府自始至终都是重要的推动力量。

多年来,在促进保障残疾人权利的国际合作中,联合国与中国政府、中残联以及其他地区及国际的领导者建立了强有力的伙伴关系。二十多年来,中残联在邓朴方主席的卓越领导下,致力于保障残疾人权利并使之成为中国、亚太地区乃至世界发展的一个重要组成部分。

让全社会的所有成员都享受人权,包括让残疾人充分参与社会和发展的各个层面,这正是联合国以及我所领导的经济社会事务部的核心使命。

联合国一直致力于推动包容、公平和可持续发展,在这一过程需要体育的力量。体育可以促进经济发展,增加就业机会,还可以推进无障碍设施的建设。残奥会这样的国际体育盛事,能够提升社会共识并刺激基础设施的建设,包括交通、通讯以及公共空间等。为了改善世界人民特别是最贫困人口的生活水平,全世界领导人作出了八项具体又富有雄心的承诺——联合国千年发展目标,为发挥体育的作用,推动面向全体人民的发展,提供了一个框架。

残奥会一直都在发掘体育在促进全球和平、繁荣以及保护人类尊严方面的巨大潜力,这与联合国实现国际和平、社会进步、提高生活水平以及各国和人民之间和谐相处的理念,完美地契合在一起。实际上,联合国与残奥会有着同样根本的使命――服务全人类。

挑战社会障碍,奋力发掘自己的所有潜力,残奥会运动员向世人证明,人的意志力是无止境的。现在《公约》已经进入了关键的实施阶段,需要将文字和承诺化为有效的国内政策和战略,化为持续而具体的实施步骤,为所有人建立一个公正、公平的社会。在这一过程中,作为支持联合国《残疾人权利公约》的一个群体,没有人比你们更坚毅、更有活力、更鼓舞人心。

最后,我谨代表联合国,向你们表达我衷心的感谢,感谢你们的大力支持,并祝愿2008年北京残奥会圆满成功!

* 英文内容

Message by Mr. Sha Zukang, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs on the Occasion of the Unveiling of the Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities Monument Wall at the 2008 Paralympic Games
Beijing, 30 August 2008

It is a joyous moment for the international community to witness the unveiling of the Monument Wall to support the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities. Allow me to congratulate first of all the Government of China and the China Disabled Persons’ Federation (CDPF), the Beijing Organizing Committee of the Olympic and Paralympic Games (BOCOG) and the International Paralympic Committee for making this extraordinary commemoration possible.

The Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities is the first comprehensive and universal legal instrument for the protection of the rights of persons with disabilities. The adoption of the Convention by the United Nations General Assembly in 2006 was the culmination of many years of tireless efforts by the international community. Since the very beginning of the Convention process, the Government of China was one of the driving forces that led the treaty process to its successful conclusion.

The United Nations has enjoyed many years of strong partnerships with China and CDPF, and other regional and global leaders, to advance the rights of persons with disabilities around the world. For more than two decades, CDPF, under the eminent leadership of H.E. Mr. Deng Pufang, has been promoting the rights of persons with disabilities as an integral part of development in China, Asia-Pacific and worldwide.

The enjoyment of all human rights by all members of society – including the full participation of persons with disabilities in all aspects of society and development – goes to the very heart of the mission of the United Nations and the Department of Economic and Social Affairs, which I have the honour to head.

The United Nations is seeking to incorporate the power of sports in its endeavours to promote inclusive, equitable and sustainable development. Sports can provide economic opportunities, generate employment and promote physical accessibility. International sporting events, such as the Paralympic Games, can raise awareness and stimulate action on accessibility of infrastructure, including transportation, communication systems and public space. The Millennium Development Goals – eight specific and ambitious commitments made by world leaders to improve the lives of the world’s people, especially the poorest – provide a framework to intensify the use of sports as means to advance development for all.

The Paralympic Games have long worked to harness the great potential of sports to contribute to global peace, prosperity and the preservation of human dignity. This dovetails perfectly with the work of the United Nations for peace, social progress and better standards of life, and harmonious relations among peoples and nations. Indeed, the United Nations and the Paralympic Games have the same fundamental mission – to serve humanity.

In challenging the obstacles in society and striving to develop their full potential as world-class athletes, Paralympic athletes show that the human spirit knows no bounds. I cannot think of a more committed, energetic and inspiring group of supporters of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities, especially as we move into the critical implementation phase, when the words and commitments in the Convention must be translated into effective national policies and strategies, and continuous and concrete steps towards a just and equitable society for all.

On behalf of the United Nations, and from the bottom of my heart, I thank you all for your strong support and wish you a most successful 2008 Paralympic Games.