经济和社会事务副秘书长沙祖康先生 在上海第七届亚太地区城市信息化年度论坛上 关于灵活运用信息通讯技术,建设更有效率城市的讲话
2008年5月26-27日,上海

尊敬的杨雄市长(上海市副市长 杨雄 先生)
尊敬的里奥. 梅罗雷大使(经社理事会主席Léo Mérorès 先生)
各位来宾,
女士们,先生们,

我很荣幸地欢迎你们来参加第七届亚洲太平洋地区城市信息化论坛。联合国经济与社会事务部与上海市政府共同承办这个论坛,旨在促进讨论,交换意见和经验。

本届论坛将着重探讨大有希望的方法和关键问题,推动地方社区灵活运用信息通讯技术,来建设更美好的城市。

我们现在生活在一个信息通讯技术主导的世界上。近三十年来,语音传输电路的成本大幅度下降,与此同时,我们投资而产生的运算能力也在急剧增强。但是,随着电子商务持续快速的成长,信息技术的革命才刚刚开始。

近年来,亚洲最显著的发展之一就是电子通讯技术的革命。新移动通讯网络大踏步超越欠发达的铜导线网络,并且,互联网服务也在快速增长。

信息基础设施的改善在信息通讯技术之外的领域也提供了很多的机遇,推动了大小商业的潜在生产力。很多微观和宏观的研究结果表明:电讯基础设施与稳固的生产力,和经济增长之间有着密切的关系。这种关系所产生的效果在较贫穷的国家中尤其显著。

电讯革命能够对城市的竞争力产生重大的影响。城市是国际货物和服务的进出门户,因此,在一座城市中,先进的电讯基础设施是促使跨国公司决定建立区域总部枢纽的重要因素之一。没有一个先进的信息基础设施,城市就会在吸引外资和国际竞争上处于不利的位置。

关于建立这样的信息基础设施,亚洲的人口密集城市,完全可以充分利用,高密度的用户所带来的较低固定入网费用的优势。

现在,想要成为一个具有竞争力的城市,需要涉及多种因素:技术基础设施,知识型工人,妥当的电子政务政策,电子商务和电子社区。同时也需要制定一种公共政策,创造有利于竞争的环境。

公共政策必须进行重新设计,以适应地方政府的新要求。公民需要从地方政府得到关于地方服务的信息,如地方教育和医疗保健信息,用水和卫生设施的信息,以及许可证,执照和申请表格等信息。此外,对地方数码基础设施的需求将带动在线服务的应用,使我们的生活质量得到显著的提高,成本和精力有所减少。公民和私人商业也能够通过在线政府来办理各种业务。

此外,政府需要利用高等教育资源来产生新技术和培养知识型工人群体,包括提供再培训。

从政府机构和公民之间的关系方面,电子政务解决方案通常被描述为 -'前端办公室'界面。然而,电子政务上的大部分投资要用于'后端办公室'功能的一体化,如人力资源,财务和信息通信技术。这样的一体化进程,有的是公共管理中不同层次间的纵向一体化,也有的是提供市民服务机构之间的横向一体化。

联合国经济与社会事务部每两年进行一次联合国电子政务调查.今年的调查结果显示:大部分在电子政务领域领先的国家,已经通过其国家和部级网站实现了‘后端办公室’的一体化。欧洲国家在最前列的35个国家中占据了70%, 亚洲国家占20%,北美和大洋洲地区也占5%。这些欧洲国家作为一个集团大量投资部署宽带网络基础设施,由此带动了实施电子政府应用的增长,造福了本国公民。

在'后端办公室'一体化的实现过程中,关键变量是人,流程和所需的技术。不过,有记录显示,一体化的成败往往取决于人而非技术。其中,尤其重要的是,这些人要具有改变公共服务文化的能力,能够激励公共部门职工积极的以新方式工作,同时还要具备娴熟的管理和领导才能。

在实现电子政府的过程中,各国政府需要注意两个关键问题:在后端办公室的流程中要具有快速反应能力,和促进发展自行适应的前端办公室进程。

为了减少新决定,法规和法律等从制定到实施的时间,公共管理要具备快速应对变化的手段。一个进程活动中的一个变动,或电子政务系统一部分中的一个变动,都可能在相同进程或系统的其他部分中造成很多问题。

考虑到各国以及国内各区域间法律、法规、服务、行政过程不同,和使用不同语言,电子政务府尤其面临着实现互用性和一体化的巨大挑战。

同时,对于能够满足公民和企业需要的电子政务的需求在不断增长。电子政务的各项措施若要成功,公共服务就应重新组织起来,服务每个公民。为了增加使用电子政务系统带来的回报,服务就要非常有效,就是说,一个有经验的用户能够享用一种服务,而不受无关信息的困扰。

经验表明,网络用户往往不愿意通过问卷或表格,表达他们的满意度和期望值。为了避免显式的询问用户,我们需要用隐式的方法来了解用户的偏好。通过这种方式收集的信息,对于转换和定制离线服务的在线使用也非常重要。

电子政务对于安全、信任和隐私的要求很高,并且需要在相同的进程中与许多不同的利益相关者打交道,例如:公民和市政府、县议会、及联邦政府。各国政府还必须提供资源,消除通信和信息准入的壁垒,这些壁垒限制了健全人与残疾人之间的商业沟通与社会交往。

联合国经济与社会事务部一直努力通过多种平台,应对各国政府所面临的各种各样的挑战。例如,联合国公共管理网,这是一个全天候运转的知识共享平台。

联合国公共行政管理网的主要目的之一就是:协助积累知识,了解各国中央和地方政府如何使用和定制信息通信技术工具,来改善政府工作,满足本国公民的需要。在这个网络中,我们的一个最强有力的合作伙伴,也就是坐落在上海的‘城市信息化区域中心’,一直得到上海市政府的大力支持。

联合国经济与社会事务部也与上海市政府,以及其他国际机构,如联合国大学,国际电联,开发计划署,中国科学院,韩国公共管理和安全部,建立了伙伴关系。这些合作伙伴将会在本届论坛中讨论亚洲和太平洋地区电子及移动政务知识库。这个知识库将成为全球电子政府知识库中的一部分。

最后, 我鼓励各位进一步探讨这一命题,即今天的城市利用互联网的能力,不仅能够提高当地社区的生活质量,还将决定这些城市,在全球数字经济中是否具有竞争优势。

我衷心祝愿各位进行最有成效的讨论。

谢谢大家。

* 英文内容

Statement by Mr. Sha Zukang, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs to the 7th Annual Forum on City Informatization in the Asia-Pacific Region on the Smart Use of ICT for Better Cities
Shanghai, 26-27 May 2008

Mr. Yang Xiaong, Vice Mayor of Shanghai,
His Excellency Ambassador Léo Mérorès, President of ECOSOC
Distinguished guests,
Ladies and Gentlemen,

I would like to welcome you to the 7th Forum on City Informatization in the Asia-Pacific Region, organized by the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs and the Shanghai Municipal Government, to facilitate discussion and the exchange of visions, experiences and lessons learned.

Before addressing the focused theme of this Forum, I would like, on behalf of United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon, to express my deepest and heartfelt condolence and sympathy to the Chinese people of Sichuan and other quake-affected areas in China.

The day before yesterday, the Secretary-General paid a personal visit to Wenchuan County in Sichuan Province. The main purpose was to show solidarity and support from the international community to the Chinese people. During the visit, he reiterated the willingness of the United Nations to continue its utmost efforts in helping the Chinese people overcome these current difficulties, minimize their losses and rebuild their homes in the best possible way. The past14 days of relief work that the whole world has witnessed has demonstrated that the Chinese people, under the effective and citizen-centric leadership of the Government, have the will, determination and ability to win this battle.

Let me turn now to the Forum, which will focus this year on promising approaches and key issues towards the “smart” use of Information Communication Technologies (ICTs) by local communities for better cities. I find particularly it befitting to have such an event held in Shanghai, as it is one of the world’s most advanced cities in ICT development.

We live in a world dominated by ICTs. The cost of voice transmission circuits has dropped dramatically over the last three decades. Computing power per dollar invested has risen dramatically during the same period. But the ICT revolution is far from complete, as electronic commerce continues to grow exponentially.

One of the most significant recent developments in Asia has been the revolution in electronic communications. New cellular phone networks are leap-frogging over under-developed copper-wire networks. And Internet services are expanding at a rapid rate.

Improved information infrastructure provides opportunities in areas well beyond the ICT sector itself, with a potential productivity impact on businesses, large and small. Many studies, from the micro to the macro, have found that telecommunications infrastructure is closely related to firm productivity and economic growth. This effect can be particularly large in poorer countries.

The telecommunications revolution can have a significant impact on a city’s competitiveness. With cities as international gateways for goods and services, an advanced telecommunications infrastructure is one of the most important factors in determining where a transnational corporation will set up its regional headquarters. Without an advanced information infrastructure, cities are at a great disadvantage in attracting international investment and competing globally.

When it comes to establishing such an infrastructure, Asia’s heavily populated cities are well poised to take advantage of the lower fixed costs of entry, which are implied by a high density of users.

These days, becoming a competitive city involves multiple factors: technology infrastructure, knowledge workers, appropriate e-government policies, e-commerce and e-communities. It also requires public policy that shapes an environment that is conducive to competitiveness.

Public policy must be re-engineered to reflect the new demands placed on local governments. Citizens need information from local governments about local service provision, from education, healthcare, water and sanitation to provision of permits, licenses and applications. Moreover, the demand for local digital infrastructure will drive a profound shift towards online provision of services, enabling a remarkable improvement in quality of life with a reduction in cost and effort. Citizens and private businesses also need to be able to conduct business with governments online.

In addition, governments need to commit higher education resources to new technologies and to producing a workforce of knowledge workers, including through retraining.

E-government solutions are often described in terms of the relationship between governmental institutions and citizens – the ‘front office’ interface. However, a large part of investment in e-government relates to the integration of ‘back office’ functions, such as human resources, finance and ICT. Such integration can take place either vertically, between the tiers of public administration, or horizontally, across the agencies engaged in the delivery of services to citizens.

In this year’s United Nations E-Government Survey, which my department, UN-DESA, publishes biennially, the majority of the leading countries in e-government have implemented this ‘back office’ integration throughout their national and ministerial websites. European countries make up 70 per cent of the top 35 countries, and Asian countries make up 20 per cent. The North American and Oceania regions account for 5 per cent. The European countries, as a group, have invested heavily in deploying broadband infrastructure, coupled with an increase in the implementation of e-government applications for the benefit of their citizens.

The key variables involved in the delivery of ‘back office’ integration are the people, process and technology required. Yet, the record suggests that success or failure is less a technological issue than a people issue. What is particularly important is the ability to change public service cultures and motivate public sector workers to engage energetically in new ways of working, while providing adequately skilled and competent management and leadership.

In their journey to e-government, governments need to address two critical issues: supporting agility within their ‘back office’ processes; and facilitating the development of self-adaptive ‘front office’ processes.

To reduce ‘time-to-market’ with regard to new decisions, regulations and law, it is necessary to equip public administration with tools that support an agile response to change. A change in one activity in a process, or in one part of an e-government system, may cause many problems in other parts of the same process or system.

E-government, in particular, confronts a big challenge to achieving inter-operability and integration, taking into account differences in law, regulations, services, administrative process and different languages, within any one country and across regions and countries.

At the same time, there is a growing need for e-government services to be adaptive to the needs of citizens and businesses. For e-government initiatives to succeed, public services should be organized so as to serve every citizen individually. In order to increase the pay-off of using an e-government system, the delivery of services has to be very efficient, which means, for example, that an (experienced) individual user can perform a service without being bombarded with irrelevant information.

Experience shows that web users tend to be reluctant to provide feedback about their satisfaction and expectations by completing questionnaires or forms. In order to avoid asking users explicitly, means for understanding their preferences implicitly are required. Such information will also be very important for converting and customizing off-line services for on-line use.

E-government places high demands on security, trust and privacy, and has to deal with many different stakeholders in the same process, such as citizens and municipalities, county councils and federal government. Governments must also commit resources to removing communication and information access barriers that restrict business and social interactions between citizens with and without disabilities.

UN-DESA has been working hard to address these various challenges that governments face through platforms such as the United Nations Public Administration Network (UNPAN), which provides a 24/7 knowledge-sharing platform.

One of UNPAN’s major purposes is to assist in building knowledge on how central and local governments can use ICT tools to improve their governmental operations, customized to their citizens’ needs. One of our strongest partners in this network, the Regional Center on City Informatization, based in Shanghai, has been firmly supported by the Shanghai Municipal Government, our partners in organizing this Forum.

UN-DESA has also built partnerships with the other international agencies, such as UNU, ITU, UNDP, the Chinese Academy of Sciences and the Ministry of Public Administration and Security of the Republic of Korea. And we are gathering partnerships within this Forum to discuss the Knowledge Repository for e/m-Government in Asia and the Pacific, which will become part of the Global Knowledge Repository for e/m Government.

Let me close by encouraging you to further explore this proposition, that the ability of today’s cities to leverage the Internet will determine their competitive advantage in a global digital economy, while improving the quality of life of local communities.

I wish you a most fruitful and productive discussion.

Thank you.

Now, it is my pleasure to invite Mr. Leo Merores, President of the United Nations Economic and Social Council to make welcoming address.

Now, I have the honour to invite Mr. Yang Xiong, Executive Vice Mayor of Shanghai Municipal Government of the People's Republic of China to make welcoming remarks.