DESA News Vol. 13, No. 02 February 2009

Comings and goings

Ms. Haiyan QianMs. Haiyan Qian has been appointed by the Secretary-General as Director of DESA’s Division for Public Administration & Development Management (DPADM), effective 1 February 2009. Ms. Qian has been engaged in the last 28 years in issues related to public policy and governance. Since joining the Department, Ms. Qian has served as Chief of DPADM’s Knowledge Management Branch and Chief Manager of the United Nations Public Administration Network.

Prior to that, she worked for other United Nations agencies, such as the Centre for Science and Technology for Development and UNEP’s Centre on Environmentally Sound Technology in Japan. Before joining the United Nations, Ms. Qian worked for the Chinese Government in the area of science and technology for development and served in the Chinese Permanent Mission to the United Nations based in New York twice, covering the United Nations Second Committee on Social and Economic Affairs. She received her Bachelor of Arts in Beijing, China and her Master in Public Administration from the Kennedy School of Government, Harvard University, USA.

Mr. Nikolai Zaitsev, Chief of DESA’s Office of the Under-Secretary General, has been re-assigned effective 1 February 2009 to assume new responsibilities as Head of a new Capacity Development Office in DESA.

Mr. Juwang Zhu has been appointed as the new Chief of the Office of the Under-Secretary General as of 1 February 2009. Mr. Zhu has been Chief of Branch in DESA’s Division for Sustainable Development.

Mr. Nikhil Chandavarkar has been re-assigned as of 1 February 2009 to the post of Chief, Communications and Outreach Branch, Division for Sustainable Development. Mr. Chandavarkar has been released as Chief, Communications and Information Management Service.

The following staff members were promoted in January:

Mr. Josephus (Joop) Theunissen, Senior Programme Officer, Office for ECOSOC Support and Coordination

Ms. Bibi Khan, Research Assistant, Office for ECOSOC Support and Coordination

Ms. Aida Diawara, Statistics Assistant, Statistics Division (effective 1 October 2008)


The following staff member also retired in January:

Mr. Sekou Soumahoro, Governance & Public Administration Officer, Division for Public Administration and Development Management