DESA News Vol. 12, No. 12 December 2008

Comings and goings


Ms. Jan McAlpineMs. Jan McAlpine joined the Department as new Director of the United Nations Forum on Forests Secretariat (UNFFS) on 5 November and brings an extensive experience in international forest policy matters. Before joining the United Nations, she was a Visiting Scholar and Senior Research Fellow for International Forestry Resources & Institutions (IFRI) at the University of Michigan’s School of Natural Resources and Environment and was working on the IFRI and National Science Foundation funded by the Central Africa Forests and Institutions (CAFI) research project.

Ms. McAlpine previously served as Senior Negotiator and Advisor for Forests for the United States Department of State in the Office of Oceans, International Environmental and Scientific Affairs since 1998, and in this capacity, participated closely in UNFF and its predecessor informal IPF and IFF processes. She also headed US Delegations to a number of other international processes, including the Commission on Sustainable Development and the Food and Agriculture Organization’s Committee on Forestry and the International Tropical Timber Organization (ITTO).

Mr. Tariq BanuriWe also welcome Mr. Tariq Banuri as new Director of the Division for Sustainable Development on 12 November. A national of Pakistan, he brings to the United Nations a broad experience on the interface between policy, research, and practical actions on the realization of the goal of sustainable development. Mr Banuri worked in government, academia, civil society, and the international system. Before joining DESA, he was a Senior Fellow and Director of the Future Sustainability Programme of the Stockholm Environment Institute.

Mr. Banuri started his career in the Civil Service of Pakistan, went on to receive a PhD in Economics from Harvard University and joined the United Nations as a Research Fellow at the World Institute for Development Economics Research (WIDER). He has served on national as well as international forums for policy, advocacy, and research, including as a Coordinating Lead Author on the Nobel Prize-winning Inter-governmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC).

The following staff members were promoted in November:

Ms. Margaret Mbogoni, Statistician, Statistics Division

Ms. Cheryl Sawyer, Population Affairs Officer, Population Division

Ms. Sharon Taylor, Social Affairs Officer, Division for the Advancement of Women

Ms. Claire Fellini, Editorial Assistant, Population Division

Mr. Graham Osborn, Statistics Assistant, Statistics Division


Mr. Jeremiah BandaMr. Jeremiah Banda Chief of the Demographic and Social Statistics Branch of the Statistics Division, retired on 30 November 2008. Among his many achievements, Mr. Banda was in charge of the overall management of the 2010 World Population and Housing Census Programme. His long career in the United Nations system includes service as a regional advisor to the United Nations Economic Commission for Africa (ECA) on statistical training and household surveys.

Prior to joining the Statistics Division, Mr. Banda worked as a senior statistician in the Cost of Living Division of the International Civil Service Commission. Mr. Banda is one of the pioneers of statistical work in Africa, heading the Statistical Office of Zambia and conducting the national Population and Housing Census in the 1980's.

The following staff members retired in November:

Ms. Joyce Buchanan, Programme Officer, Office for ECOSOC Support and Coordination

Ms. Leticia Silverio-Ruffing, Information Assistant, Division for Sustainable Development

Ms. Vajinder Singh, Programming Assistant, Development Policy & Analysis Division