DESA News Vol. 12, No. 10 October 2008

Comings and goings


The following staff members were promoted in September:

Ms. Sharon Birch, Staff Assistant, Development Policy and Analysis Division

Ms. Lynn Thway, Finance and Budget Officer, Executive Office

Ms. Rocio Torres, Staff Assistant, Division for the Advancement of Women

Ms. Sabine Warschburger, Statistician, Statistics Division


Mr. Jacinto De VeraMr. Jacinto De Vera, Acting Chief of the Socio-Economic Governance and Management Branch in DESA’s Division for Public Administration and Development Management, retired on 30 September following some thirty-seven years of dedicated service to the United Nations.

Among his many achievements, Mr. De Vera has led DPADM’s thematic group on civic engagement dealing with policy development, service delivery and public accountability. Mr. De Vera is particularly known for his expertise in foreign direct investment, transnational corporations, taxation, aid flows for MDG implementation, and international trade. Prior to assuming the role of acting head of the Socio-Economic Governance and Management Branch in June 2008, he was Secretary of the UN Committee of Experts on Public Administration and was engaged in research on a range of issues in this field.

The following staff members also retired in September:

Mr. Samuel Jan, Computer Systems Assistant, Office of the Under-Secretary-General

Ms. Jocelyne Theagene, Secretary, Development Policy and Analysis Division

Ms. Sylvia Tower, Staff Assistant, Division for Sustainable Development