DESA News Vol. 12, No. 08 August 2008

Comings and goings


Mr. Paul Cheung Mr. Paul Cheung, Director of the DESA Statistics Division, was awarded an honorary doctorate on 30 June from the National University of Mongolia in recognition of his work in advancing the global statistical system and facilitating the improvement of national statistical systems in developing countries. Established in 1942 in Ulaanbaatar, the institution is the country's oldest and only comprehensive university, and is a leading centre of science, education and culture.

The following staff members were promoted in July:

Ms. Ilaria Di Matteo, Chief of Energy Statistics Section, Statistics Division

Ms. Melissa Lazarovich, Finance Assistant, Executive Office

Ms. Awet Segid, Statistics Assistant, Statistics Division

Mrs. Almaz Atnafu Woldekidane, Senior Governance and Public Administration Officer, Division for Public Administration and Development Management


Mr. Guido Bertucci Mr. Guido Bertucci, Director of DESA’s Division of Public Administration and Development Management, retired on 31 July following a distinguished career of thirty-four years in the United Nations. As head of DPADM from 1994 to 2008, Mr. Bertucci oversaw the expansion of the organization’s programme on public administration, and was a keen advocate of holding high-level intergovernmental discussions on public administration issues given the centrality of good governance to the internationally agreed development goals.

Among his many achievements, Mr. Bertucci helped establish the UN Online Network in Public Administration, the UN Public Service Day and Awards, the World Public Sector Report, and the Global Forum on Reinventing Government. He has taught, lectured, delivered training, and provided policy advice and technical assistance on a range of subjects related to sound administration.

Before joining DPADM, Mr. Bertucci held a series of administrative posts in the organization, rising to the level of Executive Officer in the former Department of Technical Cooperation for Development and, before that, in the Department of Administration and Management. Mr. Bertucci, a national of Italy, holds a Laurea in political science from the Catholic University of Milan, as well as a post-graduate diploma in administrative sciences and a number of honorary doctorates.

Mr. Johan Schölvinck  Mr. Johan Schölvinck retired as Director of DESA’s Division for Social Policy and Development on 31 July concluding a notable United Nations career spanning some twenty-eight years. At the helm of DSPD since 2002, Mr. Schölvinck has guided the department’s normative, analytical and technical cooperation work in the many complex areas of social development, including poverty eradication, employment, indigenous issues, ageing, disabled persons, youth, and the family.

During his tenure, the division he managed helped shepherd the landmark 2006 Disabilities Convention to a successful conclusion, and oversaw the ten-year review of the World Summit for Social Development commitments, which culminated in a declaration that all peoples, in all countries and from all walks of life, might join in realizing the shared vision of a more just and equitable world.

Mr. Schölvinck has held a variety of positions over the course of his career, including Chief of the Population and Development Section, Chief of the ECOSOC Policy Coordination Branch, Special Assistant to the Assistant Secretary-General for Development Research and Policy Analysis, and Information Officer in the African Office for Emergency Operations. His first posting with the organization was to UNCTAD in Geneva in 1980.

Prior to joining the United Nations, Mr. Schölvinck was Assistant Professor of Environmental Economics at Rutgers University in the United States. He holds a Ph.D. in agricultural economics from Cornell University, also in the United States, and is a national of the Netherlands.

The following staff members also retired in July:

Ms. Maria Antonia de Renzi, Technical Cooperation Assistant, Division for Sustainable Development

Ms. Anne Marie Sherning, Statistics Assistant, Statistics Division

Ms. Mismake Yimane, Secretary, Division for the Advancement of Women