DESA News Vol. 12, No. 06 June 2008



Committee on Non-Governmental Organizations

Resumed regular session for 2008, New York, 29 May-6 June

DESA/Egypt Conference on Africa Parliamentary Knowledge Network

Cairo, 4-5 June

DESA/RSPC Workshop on Regional Approaches to e-Parliament

Sofia, 9-10 June

Regional Workshop on Census Data Processing

Dar es Salaam, 9-13 June

DESA/Italy Euro-African Partnership for Decentralized Governance

Study Tour, Florence, 11-21 June

DESA/Italy Stakeholder Forum on Aid Quality and Effectiveness

Rome, 12-13 June

Workshop for Francophone African Countries on Distributive Trade Statistics

Bamako, 17-20 June

Informal Hearings with Representatives of Civil Society and the Business Sector on Financing for Development

New York, 18 June

Committee of Experts on Environmental-Economic Accounting

3rd Meeting and Special Session on Climate Change, New York, 25-27 June

Economic and Social Council

Substantive session for 2008, New York 30 June-25 July


Workshop on e-Government Development in Africa

Kampala, 14-18 July

Expert Group Meeting on Industrial Statistics

New York, 15-17 July


United Nations Public Service Day

23 June

Public Service Day is celebrated each year on 23 June in recognition of the value of public service to the community and in development, the work of public servants, and to encourage young people to pursue careers in the public sector. United Nations Public Service Awards are presented each year on the Day to honour excellence in public service delivery and professionalism around the world.

This year’s winning initiatives – ranging from mobile health care to community development – are from Australia, Brazil, India, Jordan, Rwanda, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Spain, Sweden, Tunisia, and the United States. The 2008 awards will be presented in a special event at United Nations Headquarters. The Vice-President of the General Assembly, Deputy-Secretary-General, and Under-Secretary-General for Social and Economic Affairs have been invited, along with innovative leaders whose institutions have won the awards this year and in the past. Some 300 participants are expected to attend.

The competition is open to all public organizations and agencies at national or sub-national level, as well as public-private partnerships. Awards are given in three categories: improving transparency, accountability and responsiveness in the public service; improving the delivery of services; and fostering participation in policy-making decisions through innovative mechanisms.

For more information: