DESA News Vol. 11, No. 3 March 2007

Comings and goings


The following staff members were promoted between 1 January and 28 February:

Ms. Robin Carrington, Statistics Assistant, Statistics Division

Ms. Patricia Codazzi, Administrative Assistant, Division for the Advancement of Women

Mr. Marc-Andre Dorel, Programme Officer, Office for Economic and Social Council Support and Coordination

Mr. Amine Lamrabat, Secretary, Division for Social Policy and Development

Ms. Maria Consuelo Limchoc, Senior Staff Assistant, Office of the Under-Secretary-General

Mr. Garegin Manukyan, Governance and Public Administration Officer, Division for Public Administration and Development Management

Ms. Federica Pietracci, Sustainable Development Officer, Division for Sustainable Development

Mr. Mario Tuason, Chief of Section, Executive Office

Ms. Jennifer Tungol, Administrative Assistant, Statistics Division

Ms. Rosemarie Waters, Editorial Assistant, Division for Sustainable Development

Mr. Anatoly Shyshlyaev

Mr. Anatoly Shyshlyaev, Secretary of the Committee for Development Policy in the Development Policy and Analysis Division, retired on 31 January after 19 years with the United Nations. During his tenure with DESA, Mr. Shyshlyaeve variously served as Chief of the Long-term Development Perspectives Branch, contributor to the annual report on the World Economic and Social Survey, and participant in the international network of economists known as Project Link. Prior to joining the UN, he worked at the USSR Academy of Sciences in Moscow and at the International Institute for Applied Systems Analysis near Vienna. Mr. Shyshlyaev holds a Ph.D. in Economics from Moscow State University.


The following staff members also retired in January:

Mr. Roberto Guimaraes, Senior Economic Affairs Officer, Division for Social Policy and Development

Mr. Walter Shearer, Senior Economic Affairs Officer, Division for Sustainable Development

The following individuals were transferred from DESA on promotion from the General Service to Professional staff category:

Ms. Olga Shumikhina, Computer Information Systems Assistant, Population Division to the Department of Management

Ms. Lynn Thway, Statistics Assistant, Development Policy and Analysis Division to the Economic Commission for Africa