>> 我们是谁,我们做什么  
>> 某些关键问题  
>>  
>>  
>>  
>> 联合国主页  
>> 本网PDF文档  

联系资料

United Nations Dept. of Economic & Social Affairs
Division for Sustainable Development
电话:212-963-8102
传真:212-963-4260
联系信息

媒体询问
UN Department of Public Information Strategic Communications Division
联系信息

 

  可持续发展决不是一个负担,它提供了一个独特的机会——在经济方面,能借以建立市场和创造就业;在社会方面,能借以使处于社会边缘者参与;在政治方面,能借以让每个人,不分男女,在决定自己的未来时,发表看法,做出选择。

联合国秘书长科菲·安南


  我们在人类的摇篮非洲大陆宣布,我们通过《可持续发展问题世界首脑会议执行计划》和本《宣言》彼此承担责任、并对更大的人生大家庭及子孙后代负有责任。

(约翰内斯堡可持续发展宣言,第6段)

我们是谁

  联合国可持续发展司是联合国经济和社会事务部的一部分,设在纽约。本司作为联合国可持续发展委员会的实质性秘书处并通过国际、区域和国家各级的技术合作和能力建设活动,促进可持续发展。

  可持续发展委员会是一个关于可持续发展问题的高级别论坛,审查国家、区域和国际各级实施《21世纪议程》、《巴巴多斯行动纲领》和《约翰内斯堡执行计划》的进展,监测实施情况并予以报告。该委员会每年在纽约举行一次会议,审查和政策问题每年轮换进行,两年一个周期。

1992年 联合国环境与发展会议(环发会议,即地球问题首脑会议)(巴西里约热内卢)把经济和社会发展与环境保护联系起来,并通过了《21世纪议程》和《里约原则》。1992年12月联合国大会设立了可持续发展委员会,以确保环发会议得到有效落实。

1994年 小岛屿发展中国家可持续发展全球会议(巴巴多斯布里奇顿)通过了《关于小岛屿发展中国家可持续发展的巴巴多斯行动纲领》,《行动纲领》为小岛屿发展中国家的可持续发展制定了具体行动和措施。

1997年 联合国大会特别会议(地球问题首脑会议五周年特别会议)(美利坚合众国纽约)通过了《进一步执行21世纪议程方案》,其中载列了1998年至2002年可持续发展委员会工作方案。

2002年 可持续发展问题世界首脑会议(南非约翰内斯堡)评估了自1992年地球问题首脑会议以来进展中遇到的障碍和取得的成就。可持续发展问题世界首脑会议通过了《约翰内斯堡执行计划》,其中规定了重点更加突出的方针做法,既有具体步骤,又有可以定量和有时间限制的大小目标。

2005年 在对《关于小岛屿发展中国家可持续发展的巴巴多斯行动纲领》做十年审查时(毛里求斯路易港),会员国通过了《进一步执行巴巴多斯行动纲领的毛里求斯战略》。

  我们做什么

  可持续发展司作为可持续发展委员会的秘书处,为可持续发展委员会的各项工作提供便利和管理这些工作,其中包括可持续发展委员会的届会,可持续发展委员会主席团的会议,和其他闭会期间的活动。它为可持续发展委员会届会编写秘书长报告和背景文件。除了请会员国参与外,各主要群体、伙伴及学习中心的参与对委员会的工作也很重要。

  《21世纪议程》承认广大民众参与决策是实现可持续发展的基本前提之一,并确定了民间社会以下九个主要群体的具体作用和责任:妇女、儿童和青少年、土著人民、非政府组织、地方当局、工人和工会、工商界、科技界以及农民。本司支持这些主要群体参与可持续发展委员会的工作和为其做出贡献,并为这些群体互动参与可持续发展委员会的正式会议提供便利。

  可持续发展伙伴关系是一种自愿的、有多个利益有关者参与的活动,为实现国际商定的可持续发展目标作出贡献。在可持续发展问题世界首脑会议期间发起了200多个伙伴关系,这个数目现继续在增加。在可持续发展委员会届会期间召开的伙伴关系博览会为显示现有伙伴关系的进展、发起新的伙伴关系和伙伴间建立联系提供机会。伙伴关系可以通过可持续发展司的网站加以登记。

  学习中心就可持续发展委员会的各个问题提供实际工作一级的培训。在可持续发展委员会每届会议期间,都提供由著名教授和从业者讲授的各种培训班。

  本司的实质性工作大体上对应于2003年可持续发展委员会第十一届会议所通过的多年期工作方案。现有的2004-2017年工作方案是以审查年和政策年两年一个周期为基础,围绕以下专题组安排的。

·2004-2005年:水、环境卫生和人类住区

·2006-2007年:能源促进可持续发展、工业发展、空气污染/大气层和气候变化

·20008-2009年:农业、农村发展、土地、干早、荒漠化和非洲

·2010-2011年:运输、化学品、废物管理、采矿以及消费和生产格局十年方案框架

·2012-2013年:森林、生物多样性、生物技术、旅游和山地

·2014-2015年:海洋、海洋资源、小岛屿发展中国家以及灾害管理和脆弱性

·2016-2017年:《21世纪议程》;《进一步执行21世纪议程方案》和《约翰内斯堡执行计划》执行情况的总体评估

返回页首

 

联合国新闻部-联合国网页科制作 联合国版权所有 ©2006年2月

联合国主页 联合国可持续发展司简介 联合国可持续发展司简介 英文 俄文 法文 西班牙文 阿拉伯文

>> Who we are, what we do  
>> Selected key issues  
>>  
>>  
>>  
>> UN Home  

Contact information

United Nations Dept. of Economic & Social Affairs
Division for Sustainable Development
Tel. : 212-963-8102
Fax: 212-963-4260
Contact the Division

Media queries
UN Department of Public Information Strategic Communications Division
Contact the Division

 

Far from being a burden, sustainable development is an exceptional opportunity - economically, to build markets and create jobs; socially, to bring people in from the margins; and politically, to give every man and woman a voice, and a choice, in deciding their own future.

UN Secretary-General Kofi Annan


From this continent, the cradle of humanity, we declare, through the Plan of Implementation of the World Summit on Sustainable Development and the present Declaration, our responsibility to one another, to the greater community of life and to our children.

(Johannesburg Declaration on Sustainable Development, para.6)

Who we are

The United Nations Division for Sustainable Development (DSD) is a part of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs, located in New York.

The Division promotes sustainable development as the substantive secretariat to the UN Commission on Sustainable Development (CSD) and through technical cooperation and capacity-building at the international, regional and national levels.

CSD is a high-level forum on sustainable development which reviews progress and monitors and reports on implementation of Agenda 21, the Barbados Programme of Action (BPOA) and the Johannesburg Plan of Implementation (JPOI) at the national, regional and international levels. The Commission meets annually, in New York, in a two-year cycle of review and policy.

1992 | The UN Conference on Environment and Development (UNCED, Earth Summit) (Rio de Janeiro, Brazil) establishes linkages among economic and social development and environmental protection and adopts Agenda 21 and the Rio Principles. December 1992 - The UN General Assembly creates the Commission on Sustainable Development (CSD) to ensure effective follow-up to UNCED.

1994 | The Global Conference on Sustainable Development of Small Island Developing States (SIDS) (Bridgetown, Barbados) adopts the BPOA, which sets forth specific actions and measures for the sustainable development of SIDS.

1997 | The special session of the General Assembly Earth Summit + 5 (New York) adopts the Programme for the Further Implementation of Agenda 21, including a programme of work of CSD for 1998-2002.

2002 | The World Summit on Sustainable Development (WSSD) (Johannesburg, South Africa) evaluates obstacles to progress and results achieved since the 1992 Earth Summit. WSSD adopts the JPOI, which provides for a more focused approach, with concrete steps and quantifiable and time-bound targets and goals.

2005 | At the 10-year review of the Barbados Programme of Action for the Sustainable Development of Small Island Developing States (Port Luis, Mauritius), States adopt the Mauritius Strategy for the Further Implementation of the BPOA.

back to top

What we do

As secretariat to CSD, the Division for Sustainable Development facilitates and manages the CSD process, including the CSD sessions, the meetings of the CSD Bureau and other intersessional activities, and it prepares the reports of the Secretary-General and background documents for the CSD sessions. In addition to the engagement of the Member States, key to the CSD process are the participation of the major groups, partnerships and the Learning Centre.

Agenda 21 recognizes that broad public participation in decision-making is one of the fundamental prerequisites for the achievement of sustainable development, and identifies specific roles and responsibilities for nine major groups of civil society: women, children and youth, indigenous people, non-governmental organizations, local authorities, workers and trade unions, business and industry, scientific and technological communities, and farmers. The Division supports the participation and contribution of the major groups to the CSD process and facilitates their interactive participation in official sessions of CSD.

Partnerships for sustainable development are voluntary, multi-stakeholder initiatives that contribute to implementation of internationally agreed sustainable development goals. More than 200 partnerships were launched during the WSSD process and the number continues to grow. Partnerships Fairs at CSD sessions offer a venue for showcasing progress in existing partnerships, launching new partnerships and networking among partners. Partnerships may be registered through the DSD website.

The Learning Centre provides training on a practical level on CSD issues. A variety of courses are offered during each CSD session by distinguished professors and practitioners.

The substantive work of the Division largely corresponds to the multi-year Programme of Work adopted by CSD at its 11th session in 2003. Based on two-year cycles of review and policy years, the current programme of work extends from 2004 to 2017, and is organized around clusters of issues.

2004-2005: Water, sanitation and human settlements

2006-2007: Energy for sustainable development, industrial development, air pollution/atmosphere and climate change

2008-2009: Agriculture, rural development, land, drought, desertification and Africa

2010-2011: Transport, chemicals, waste management, mining and 10-year framework of programmes on consumption and production patterns

2012-2013: Forests, biodiversity, biotechnology, tourism and mountains

2014-2015: Oceans and seas, marine resources, small island developing States, and disaster management and vulnerability

2016-2017: Overall appraisal of implementation of Agenda 21, the Programme for the Further Implementation of Agenda 21 and the JPOI

back to top

 

Web site development: United Nations Department of Public Information © November 2005
United Nations Homepage UN Sustainable Development in Brief UN Sustainable Development in Brief Arabic Chinese French Russian Spanish UN Sustainable Development in Brief