ما تفعله الأمم المتحدة من أجل التنمية

إن إحدى الولايات الرئيسية التي تضطلع بها الأمم المتحدة تتمثل في رفع مستويات المعيشة، وتحقيق العمالة الكاملة وتوفير الظروف المناسبة لتحقيق التقدم والتنمية في المجالين الاقتصادي والاجتماعي. وتكرس منظومة الأمم المتحدة نحو 70 في المائة من أعمالها لإنجاز هذه الولاية. وتعمل المنظومة بوحي من إيمانها بأن القضاء على الفقر وتحسين أسباب رفاهة الناس في كل مكان يشكلان خطوتين ضروريتين لخلق أوضاع تؤدي إلى استتباب سلام دائم في العالم.

وتتمتع الأمم المتحدة بقدرات فريدة في مجال تشجيع التنمية. فتواجدها عالمي النطاق وتندرج في ولايتها الشاملة الاحتياجات الاجتماعية والاقتصادية والطارئة. ولا تمثل الأمم المتحدة أي مصلحة وطنية أو تجارية معينة. وعندما تتخذ قرارات رئيسية تتعلق بالسياسات، فإن جميع البلدان، غنيها وفقيرها، يشارك فيها بصوته.

وضع جدول الأعمال

تقوم الأمم المتحدة بدور حاسم في بناء توافق دولي في الآراء حول العمل من أجل التنمية. وابتداءً من عام 1960، ساعدت الجمعية العامة في تحديد الأولويات والأهداف من خلال سلسلة من استراتيجيات التنمية الدولية العشرية. ورغم تركيز هذه الاستراتيجيات العشرية على مسائل ذات أهمية معينة، فقد أكدت باستمرار ضرورة إحراز تقدم في جميع جوانب التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية. وتواصل الأمم المتحدة الاضطلاع بمسؤولية صياغة أهداف إنمائية جديدة في مجالات رئيسية، كالتنمية المستدامة، والنهوض بالمرأة، وحقوق الإنسان، وحماية البيئة، والحكم الرشيد، إضافة إلى برامج ترمي إلى تحقيق تلك الأهداف.

وفي قمة الألفية المعقودة في أيلول/سبتمبر 2000 اعتمد قادة العالم مجموعة من الأهداف الإنمائية في الألفية الجديدة، ترمي إلى القضاء على الفقر والجوع، وتحقيق شمولية التعليم الابتدائي، وتعزيز المساواة بين الجنسين، وتمكين المرأة، والحد من وفيات الأطفال، وتحسين صحة الأمهات، ومكافحة فيروس نقص المناعة البشرية/الإيدز، والملاريا وغيرها من الأمراض، وتحقيق الاستدامة البيئية - وذلك عن طريق مجموعة من الأهداف القابلة للقياس والسعي إلى تحقيقها بحلول عام 2015. ومن بين تلك الأهداف، التخفيض إلى النصف من نسبة من يكسبون أقل من دولار واحد يومياً، وتحقيق شمولية التعليم الابتدائي؛ والقضاء على أوجه التفاوت بين الجنسين في جميع مراحل التعليم؛ والتخفيض كثيراً في معدل وفيات الأطفال، مع تحسين صحة الأمهات.

تقديم المساعدة لأغراض التنمية

تعمل منظومة الأمم المتحدة - المكونة من الأمم المتحدة والوكالات المتخصصة وبرامج وصناديق الأمم المتحدة - بطرق شتى لتحقيق الأهداف الاقتصادية والاجتماعية.

وتغطي ولايات الوكالات المتخصصة جميع مجالات النشاط الاقتصادي والاجتماعي تقريباً. وتوفر هذه الوكالات المساعدة التقنية وغيرها من أشكال العون العملي للبلدان في جميع أنحاء العالم. وهي تقدم، بالتعاون مع الأمم المتحدة، المساعدة على وضع السياسات وتحديد المعايير والمبادئ التوجيهية وتأمين الدعم وتعبئة الأموال. وفي السنة المالية 2001، قدم البنك الدولي، مثلاً، أكثر من 17 بليون دولار قروضاً إنمائية في أكثر من 100 بلد نام.

ويكفل مجلس الرؤساء التنفيذيين لمنظومة الأمم المتحدة المعني بالتنسيق إقامة تعاون وثيق بين الأمم المتحدة والوكالات المتخصصة، وهو يضم الأمين العام ورؤساء الوكالات المتخصصة وبرامج المنظومة وصناديقها والوكالة الدولية للطاقة الذرية، ومنظمة التجارة العالمية.

وتعمل برامج الأمم المتحدة وصناديقها تحت سلطة الجمعية العامة والمجلس الاقتصادي والاجتماعي على تنفيذ الولاية الاقتصادية والاجتماعية للأمم المتحدة. ولتعزيز التعاون بين هذه الهيئات، قام الأمين العام في عام 1997 بتشكيل مجموعة الأمم المتحدة الإنمائية التي تضم الصناديق والبرامج التنفيذية.

ويعد برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي أكبر الجهات في الأمم المتحدة لتقديم المنح المخصصة لأغراض التنمية البشرية المستدامة على مستوى العالم وهو يسهم بنشاط في تحقيق الأهداف الإنمائية للألفية. ومنظمة الأمم المتحدة للطفولة (اليونيسيف) هي المؤسسة الرئيسية في الأمم المتحدة التي تعمل من أجل بقاء الأطفال وحمايتهم ونمائهم في الأجل الطويل. وتعمل اليونيسيف في نحو 160 بلداً وتركز برامجها على التحصين والرعاية الصحية الأولية والتغذية والتعليم الأساسي.

وهناك برامج عديدة أخرى تابعة للأمم المتحدة تعمل مع الحكومات والمنظمات غير الحكومية على تحقيق التنمية. فبرنامج الأغذية العالمي هو أكبر مؤسسة دولية في العالم لتقديم المعونة الغذائية للإغاثة في حالات الطوارئ وللتنمية. وصندوق الأمم المتحدة للسكان هو أكبر جهة دولية لتقديم المساعدة في مجال السكان. ويعمل برنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة على تشجيع الممارسات البيئية السليمة في كل مكان. أما برنامج الأمم المتحدة للمستوطنات البشرية (الموئل) فيقدم المساعدة للذين يعيشون في ظروف سكنية تعرض صحتهم للخطر.

وبغية زيادة مشاركة البلدان النامية في الاقتصاد العالمي، يعمل مؤتمر الأمم المتحدة للتجارة والتنمية (الأونكتاد) على تشجيع التجارة الدولية. ويعمل الأونكتاد أيضاً مع منظمة التجارة العالمية، وهي كيان مستقل، في مساعدة البلدان النامية على تصدير منتجاتها وذلك من خلال مركز التجارة الدولية.

تجميع الموارد

تقوم منظومة الأمم المتحدة على نحو متزايد بتوحيد ما تبذله من جهود للتصدي لمشاكل معقدة تحتاج إلى جميع جوانب الخبرة التنظيمية وتستعصي على الجهود التي يبذلها أي بلد يعمل بمفرده.

يقوم برنامج الأمم المتحدة المشترك المعني بالإيدز، بجمع خبرات ثماني وكالات وبرامج تابعة للأمم المتحدة لمكافحة هذا الوباء الذي أصاب أكثر من 57 مليون شخص في جميع أنحاء العالم. وتقوم مبادرة الأمم المتحدة الخاصة على نطاق المنظومة من أجل أفريقيا، وهي مشروع مدته 10 سنوات وتكلفته 25 بليون دولار وأنشئ في عام 1996، بإشراك جميع أركان الأمم المتحدة تقريباً في برنامج مشترك يسعى إلى كفالة التعليم الأساسي والخدمات الصحية والأمن الغذائي في تلك القارة. ويقوم مرفق البيئة العالمية، وهو صندوق ميزانيته 3.5 بلايين دولار يديره برنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة للبيئة والبنك الدولي، بمساعدة البلدان النامية على تنفيذ برامجها البيئية.

وفي عام 1998، وحدت اليونيسيف وبرنامج الأمم المتحدة الإنمائي والبنك الدولي ومنظمة الصحة العالمية صفوفها في شن حملة جديدة لمكافحة مرض الملاريا الذي يذهب ضحيته أكثر من مليون شخص سنوياً. وقد حظيت مبادرات مشتركة لتوسيع نطاق التلقيح وابتكار لقاحات جديدة بدعم قادة دوائر الأعمال ومؤسسات الإحسان والمنظمات غير الحكومية، والحكومات، فضلاً عن اليونيسيف ومنظمة الصحة العالمية والبنك الدولي.

(المصدر: الأمم المتحدة بإيجاز)

 
 

(* بالإنكليزية)

Mandate

One of the UN's central mandates is the promotion of higher standards of living, full employment, and conditions of economic and social progress and development. As much as 70 per cent of the work of the UN system is devoted to accomplishing this mandate. Guiding the work is the belief that eradicating poverty and improving the well-being of people everywhere are necessary steps in creating conditions for lasting world peace.

The UN has unique strengths in promoting development. Its presence is global and its comprehensive mandate spans social, economic and emergency needs. The UN does not represent any particular national or commercial interest. When major policy decisions are taken, all countries, rich and poor, have a voice.

Setting the agenda

The UN has played a crucial role in building international consensus on action for development. Beginning in 1960, the General Assembly has helped set priorities and goals through a series of 10-year International Development Strategies. While focusing on issues of particular concern, the Decades have consistently stressed the need for progress on all aspects of social and economic development. The UN continues formulating new development objectives in such key areas as sustainable development, the advancement of women, human rights, environmental protection and good governance – along with programmes to make them a reality.

At the Millennium Summit in September 2000, world leaders adopted a set of Millennium Development Goals aimed at eradicating extreme poverty and hunger; achieving universal primary education; promoting gender equality and empowering women; reducing child mortality; improving maternal health; combating HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases; and ensuring environmental sustainability — through a set of measurable targets to be achieved by the year 2015. Among these are: cutting in half the proportion of those who earn less than a dollar a day; achieving universal primary education; eliminating gender disparity at all levels of education; and dramatically reducing child mortality while increasing maternal health.

Assistance for development

The UN system works in a variety of ways to promote economic and social goals.

The mandates of the specialized agencies cover virtually all areas of economic and social endeavour. The agencies provide technical assistance and other forms of practical help to countries around the world. In cooperation with the UN, they help formulate policies, set standards and guidelines, foster support and mobilize funds. The World Bank, for example, provided more than $17 billion in development loans in fiscal year 2001 to more than 100 developing countries.

Close coordination between the UN and the specialized agencies is ensured through the UN System Chief Executives Board for Coordination (CEB), comprising the Secretary-General, the heads of the specialized agencies, funds and programmes, the International Atomic Energy Agency and the World Trade Organization.

The UN programmes and funds work under the authority of the General Assembly and the Economic and Social Council to carry out the UN's economic and social mandate. To enhance overall cooperation, the Secretary-General in 1997 set up the UN Development Group, comprising the UN operational programmes and funds.

The UN Development Programme (UNDP), the UN's largest provider of grants for sustainable human development worldwide, is actively involved in attaining the millennium development goals. The UN Children's Fund (UNICEF) is the lead UN organization working for the long-term survival, protection and development of children. Active in some 160 countries, areas and territories, its programmes focus on immunization, primary health care, nutrition and basic education.

Many other UN programmes work for development, in partnership with governments and NGOs. The World Food Programme (WFP) is the world's largest international food aid organization for both emergency relief and development. The UN Population Fund (UNFPA) is the largest international provider of population assistance. The UN Environment Programme (UNEP) works to encourage sound environmental practices everywhere, and the UN Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) assists people living in health-threatening housing conditions.

To increase the participation of developing countries in the global economy, the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) promotes international trade. UNCTAD also works with the World Trade Organization (WTO), a separate entity, in assisting developing countries' exports through the International Trade Centre.

Pooling resources

The UN system is increasingly pooling its efforts to tackle complex problems that cut across organizational areas of expertise and defy the efforts of any country acting alone.

The Joint UN Programme on AIDS pools the expertise of eight UN agencies and programmes to combat an epidemic that has struck more than 57 million people worldwide. The UN System-Wide Special Initiative on Africa — a 10-year, $25 billion endeavour launched in 1996 — brings virtually all points of the UN into a common programme to ensure basic education, health services and food security in Africa. The Global Environment Facility, a $3.5 billion fund administered by UNDP, UNEP and the World Bank, helps developing countries carry out environmental programmes.

UNICEF, UNDP, the World Bank and WHO joined forces in 1998 to launch a new campaign to fight malaria, which kills more than 1 million people a year. Joint initiatives to expand immunization and develop new vaccines have enlisted the support of business leaders, philanthropic foundations, non-governmental organizations and governments, as well as UNICEF, WHO and the World Bank.

(Source The UN in brief)