任务

联合国的一个中心任务是促进生活水平提高、充分就业、经济和社会进步以及发展。联合国系统开展的工作中多达70% 是为了完成这一任务。指导这一工作的信念是,消除贫穷和提高全世界人民的福利是为实现世界永久和平创造条件的必要 步骤。

联合国在促进发展方面有独特的优势。它在世界各地设有机构,它的综合性任务包括满足社会、经济和紧急情况需要。 联合国不代表某一国家的利益或某一商业利益。在作出重大决策时,所有国家无论贫富都有发言权。


制订议程

联合国在促进国际社会就发展行动达成共识方面发挥了重大作用。从1960年起,大会通过制订一系列为期十年的国际 发展战略,协助确定优先事项和目标。这些十年在注重一些特别关注问题的同时,一直强调需要在社会经济发展的所有 方面取得进展。

联合国继续在可持续发展、提高妇女地位、人权、环境保护和善政等关键领域内制定新的发展目标,并负责制定实现这 些目标的方案。

在2000年9月千年首脑会议上,世界各国领袖通过了一套千年发展目标,目的是消除极端贫穷和饥饿;实现普及初级教 育;促进两性平等和赋予妇女权力;减低儿童死亡率;改善产妇保健;遏制艾滋病毒/艾滋病、虐疾和其他疾病; 确保环境可持续性。为此制订一套须在2015年年底前实现的可衡量指标。其中包括:将世界上每日收入低于1美元的人 口比率减少一半;实现普及初级教育;消除各级教育的两性差距;大大减低儿童死亡率,同时改善产妇保健。


发展援助

联合国系统以各种方式促进实现经济和社会目标。

各专门机构的任务几乎识囊括了经济和社会工作的所有领域。这些机构为世界各国提供技术援助和其他方式的实际协助。 它们与联合国合作,协助制订政策,订立标准和准则,鼓励提供支持和筹集资金。例如,世界银行在2001年财政年度向 100多个发展中国家提供了170多亿美元的发展援助。

联合国通过联合国系统执行首长协调理事会确保与各专门机构密切协调。联合国系统执行首长协调理事会由秘书长、 各专门机构、基金和计划署、国际原子能机构和世界贸易组织的首长组成。

联合国各计划署和基金根据大会和经济及社会理事会的授权开展工作,执行联合国在经济和社会方面的任务。为加强这 些机构之间的合作,秘书长于1997年设立了由联合国各执行计划署及基金组成的联合国发展集团。

联合国开发计划署(开发计划署)是联合国为全世界可持续的人的发展提供多边赠款最多的机构,积极参与实现千年发 展目标。联合国儿童基金会(儿童基金会)是联合国致力于儿童的长期生存、保护和成长的主要机构。儿童基金会在 160多个国家、地区和领土内积极推行方案,方案重点为免疫、初级保健、营养和基本教育。

还有其他许多联合国计划署与各国政府和非政府组织合作以促进发展。世界粮食计划署(粮食计划署)是世界上最大的 国际粮食援助机构,既提供紧急救济,又促进发展。联合国人口基金(人口基金)在提供人口援助方面是国际上最大的 组织。联合国环境规划署(环境规划署)鼓励在世界各地采用无害环境的做法。联合国人类住区计划(联合国生境)中心帮 助那些居住状况有害健康的人。

为使发展中国家扩大参与世界经济,联合国贸易和发展会议(贸发会议)促进国际贸易。联合国贸易和发展会议还与另一 实体世界贸易组织(世贸组织)合作,通过设在日内瓦的国际贸易中心,协助发展中国家的出口。


集中使用资源

联合国系统正日益集中努力,处理那些跨越各组织的专门领域、一国无法独立解决的复杂问题。

艾滋病联合方案汇集了八个联合国机构和计划署的专长,以遏制这一危害世界各地5 700多万人的流行病。1996年开展 的联合国全系统援助非洲特别倡议是一项为期十年、耗资250亿美元的工作。联合国中几乎所有部门都参加了这一确保 非洲有基本教育、保健服务和粮食安全的共同方案。全球环境基金是一个由开发计划署、环境规划署和世界银行管理的 35亿美元的基金,旨在帮助发展中国家实施环境方案。

儿童基金会、开发计划署、世界银行和卫生组织于1998年携手开展了一场新运动,以防治疟疾这一每年使一百多万人丧 生的疾病。为扩大免疫和研制新疫苗的联合行动争取企业界领袖、慈善基金会、非政府组织和各国政府以及儿童基金 会、卫生组织和世界银行的支助。

(来源: 联合国简介)


 
 

* 英文内容

Mandate

One of the UN's central mandates is the promotion of higher standards of living, full employment, and conditions of economic and social progress and development. As much as 70 per cent of the work of the UN system is devoted to accomplishing this mandate. Guiding the work is the belief that eradicating poverty and improving the well-being of people everywhere are necessary steps in creating conditions for lasting world peace.

The UN has unique strengths in promoting development. Its presence is global and its comprehensive mandate spans social, economic and emergency needs. The UN does not represent any particular national or commercial interest. When major policy decisions are taken, all countries, rich and poor, have a voice.

Setting the agenda

The UN has played a crucial role in building international consensus on action for development. Beginning in 1960, the General Assembly has helped set priorities and goals through a series of 10-year International Development Strategies. While focusing on issues of particular concern, the Decades have consistently stressed the need for progress on all aspects of social and economic development. The UN continues formulating new development objectives in such key areas as sustainable development, the advancement of women, human rights, environmental protection and good governance – along with programmes to make them a reality.

At the Millennium Summit in September 2000, world leaders adopted a set of Millennium Development Goals aimed at eradicating extreme poverty and hunger; achieving universal primary education; promoting gender equality and empowering women; reducing child mortality; improving maternal health; combating HIV/AIDS, malaria and other diseases; and ensuring environmental sustainability — through a set of measurable targets to be achieved by the year 2015. Among these are: cutting in half the proportion of those who earn less than a dollar a day; achieving universal primary education; eliminating gender disparity at all levels of education; and dramatically reducing child mortality while increasing maternal health.

Assistance for development

The UN system works in a variety of ways to promote economic and social goals.

The mandates of the specialized agencies cover virtually all areas of economic and social endeavour. The agencies provide technical assistance and other forms of practical help to countries around the world. In cooperation with the UN, they help formulate policies, set standards and guidelines, foster support and mobilize funds. The World Bank, for example, provided more than $17 billion in development loans in fiscal year 2001 to more than 100 developing countries.

Close coordination between the UN and the specialized agencies is ensured through the UN System Chief Executives Board for Coordination (CEB), comprising the Secretary-General, the heads of the specialized agencies, funds and programmes, the International Atomic Energy Agency and the World Trade Organization.

The UN programmes and funds work under the authority of the General Assembly and the Economic and Social Council to carry out the UN's economic and social mandate. To enhance overall cooperation, the Secretary-General in 1997 set up the UN Development Group, comprising the UN operational programmes and funds.

The UN Development Programme (UNDP), the UN's largest provider of grants for sustainable human development worldwide, is actively involved in attaining the millennium development goals. The UN Children's Fund (UNICEF) is the lead UN organization working for the long-term survival, protection and development of children. Active in some 160 countries, areas and territories, its programmes focus on immunization, primary health care, nutrition and basic education.

Many other UN programmes work for development, in partnership with governments and NGOs. The World Food Programme (WFP) is the world's largest international food aid organization for both emergency relief and development. The UN Population Fund (UNFPA) is the largest international provider of population assistance. The UN Environment Programme (UNEP) works to encourage sound environmental practices everywhere, and the UN Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat) assists people living in health-threatening housing conditions.

To increase the participation of developing countries in the global economy, the UN Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) promotes international trade. UNCTAD also works with the World Trade Organization (WTO), a separate entity, in assisting developing countries' exports through the International Trade Centre.

Pooling resources

The UN system is increasingly pooling its efforts to tackle complex problems that cut across organizational areas of expertise and defy the efforts of any country acting alone.

The Joint UN Programme on AIDS pools the expertise of eight UN agencies and programmes to combat an epidemic that has struck more than 57 million people worldwide. The UN System-Wide Special Initiative on Africa — a 10-year, $25 billion endeavour launched in 1996 — brings virtually all points of the UN into a common programme to ensure basic education, health services and food security in Africa. The Global Environment Facility, a $3.5 billion fund administered by UNDP, UNEP and the World Bank, helps developing countries carry out environmental programmes.

UNICEF, UNDP, the World Bank and WHO joined forces in 1998 to launch a new campaign to fight malaria, which kills more than 1 million people a year. Joint initiatives to expand immunization and develop new vaccines have enlisted the support of business leaders, philanthropic foundations, non-governmental organizations and governments, as well as UNICEF, WHO and the World Bank.

(Source The UN in brief)