UN Photo/Evan Schneider
A ceremony in Samoa

When the United Nations was founded in 1945, some 750 million people, nearly a third of the world's population, lived in Territories that were dependent on colonial Powers. Today, fewer than 2 million people live under colonial rule in the 17 remaining non-self-governing territories. The wave of decolonization, which changed the face of the planet, was born with the UN and represents the world body’s first great success.

As a result of decolonization many countries became independent and joined the UN.

The international trusteeship system was established by the UN Charter. Affirming the principle of self-determination, the Charter describes the responsibility of States for territories under their administration as “a sacred trust” in which the interests of their inhabitants are paramount.

Trusteeship Council

The Charter also created the Trusteeship Council as a main organ of the UN. It was to monitor the situation in 11 specific “Trust Territories” which were subject to separate agreements with administering States. These territories had been formally administered under mandates from the League of Nations, or separated from countries defeated in the Second World War, or voluntarily placed under the system by their administering Power. Eleven Territories were placed under this system.

Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples

As the process of decolonization continued to advance, the General Assembly, in 1960, adopted its landmark Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples. The Declaration affirmed the right of all people to self-determination and proclaimed that colonialism should be brought to a speedy and unconditional end. Two years later, a Special Committee on Decolonization was established to monitor its implementation.


In 1990, the Assembly proclaimed the International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism (1990-2000), which included a specific plan of action. In 2001, it was followed by a Second International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism. The end of the Second Decade coincided with the fiftieth anniversary of the Declaration on the Granting of Independence to Colonial Countries and Peoples. At the same time the General Assemblydeclared the period 2011–2020 the Third International Decade for the Eradication of Colonialism.

The Falkland Islands (Malvinas)

The Falkland Islands (Malvinas) is (since 1946)  a Non-Self-Governing Territory administered by the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, comprising two large islands, known as East and West Falkland, and hundreds of smaller islands, in the south-west Atlantic Ocean. The Islands remain the subject of a long standing sovereignty dispute between the United Kingdom and Argentina, In the course of 2014 and early 2015, Argentina and the United Kingdom continued to reiterate their respective positions regarding various constitutional, military and economic aspects of the sovereignty dispute over the Territory.


French Polynesia

In May 2013 The United Nations General Assembly voted to place French Polynesia back on the UN list of territories that should be decolonized and requested the French Government to "facilitate rapid progress [...] towards a self-determination process." Adopting a consensus resolution proposed by Nauru, Tuvalu and the Solomon Islands, the Assembly affirmed "the inalienable right of the people of French Polynesia to self-determination and independence" under the UN Charter, and declared that "an obligation exists [under the Charter] on the part of the Government of France, as the administering Power of the Territory, to transmit information on French Polynesia." The Assembly's action placed French Polynesia back on the UN list of Non-Self-Governing Territories, bringing the number of inscriptions to 17.

Since the creation of the United Nations, 80 former colonies have gained their independence. This includes all 11 Trust Territories, which have achieved self-determination through independence or free association with an independent State. The Special Committee continues to monitor the situation in the remaining 17 territories, working to facilitate their advance towards complete self-determination.


Drupal template developed by DPI Web Services Section