The Secretariat, one of the main organs of the UN, is organized along departmental lines, with each department or office having a distinct area of action and responsibility. Offices and departments coordinate with each other to ensure cohesion as they carry out the day to day work of the Organization in offices and duty stations around the world.  At the head of the United Nations Secretariat is the Secretary-General.

Photo: IOM/Mohammed
In August 2016 Emergency Relief Coordinator Stephen O’Brien visited a protected site in South Sudan, where more than 20,000 people were seeking protection as a result of conflict. Mr. O'Brien heads the Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs (OCHA) - the part of the United Nations Secretariat responsible for bringing together humanitarian actors to ensure a coherent response to emergencies.

Offices and Departments at Headquarters in New York

Executive Office of the Secretary-General
Office of Internal Oversight Services
Office of Legal Affairs
Department of Political Affairs
Office for Disarmament Affairs
  • Weapons of Mass Destruction Branch
  • Conventional Arms Branch
  • Information and Outreach Branch
  • Regional Disarmament Branch
  • Conference on Disarmament Secretariat and Conference Support Branch
Department of Peacekeeping Operations
Department of Field Support
  • Office of the Assistant Secretary-General
  • Field Personnel Division
  • Field Budget and Finance Division
  • Logistics Support Division
  • Information & Communications Technology Division
  • Policy Evaluation and Training (PET) Division
  • United Nations Logistics Base in Brindisi (UNLB)
Office for the Coordination of Humanitarian Affairs
Department of Economic and Social Affairs
Department for General Assembly and Conference Management
Department of Public Information
Department of Safety and Security
  • Field Support Service
  • Division of Regional Operations
  • Division of Headquarters Security and Safety Services
Department of Management
Internal Justice Bodies
Other Offices
Special Advisers, Representatives and Envoys

Offices Outside the Main Headquarters


UN Regional Commissions

Addis Ababa
Drupal template developed by DPI Web Services Section