Ambassador of India to chair Counter-Terrorism Committee

07 January 2011

On January 4, the Security Council elected the Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations, Ambassador Hardeep Singh Puri, as the chair of the Counter-Terrorism Committee (CTC) for the year 2011. Mr. Puri replaces the Ambassador of Turkey, one of five countries to finish its two-year term as a member of the Security Council in December.

Colombia, Germany, India, Portugal and South Africa are the new non-permanent members of the Security Council.

An experienced diplomat, Mr. Puri joined the Indian Foreign Service in 1974. During his long and distinguished career, he has held high-level positions in India and abroad, including in Brazil, Geneva, New York, and the United Kingdom. Defense, disarmament and non-proliferation, human rights, public health, security, south-south cooperation and trade and are some of the topics he has worked on at the bilateral and multilateral levels.

The CTC Mr. Puri will chair was established in 2001 by the Security Council. The Committee is tasked with monitoring the implementation of resolutions 1373 and 1624, requesting States to take a number of measures intended to enhance their legal and institutional ability to prevent and counter terrorist activities at home, in their regions and around the world.

This year, Mr. Puri will also take on the responsibility of chairing the Sanctions Committee concerning Somalia and Eritrea.

This page was last updated on: 26-Jan-2011 4:53 PM EST