Undisplayed Graphic

UNTAES was established on 15 January 1996 by Security Council Resolution 1037 (1996) for an initial period of twelve months with both military and civilian components. The mandate was to supervise and facilitate the demilitarization as undertaken by the parties (Government of the Republic of Croatia and the local Serbian Community); to monitor the voluntary and safe return of refugees and displaced persons to their home of origin in cooperation with the United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees; and to contribute to the maintenance of peace and security in the region. Upon completion of the task, the Mission was terminated in January 1998.

A medal was established in March 1996 with a qualifying period of 90 days of service.The ribbon has a blue background (representing peace), upon which is a broad red field in the middle bordered by thin white bands representing United Nations Peace Forces’ command. Centered to the left is a narrow light green field (representing forests) and centered to the right is a narrow yellow field (representing cornfields).

The countries of Argentina, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Fiji, Finland, Ghana, Indonesia, Ireland, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, Kenya, Lithuania, Nepal, New Zealand, the Kingdom of the Netherlands, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Poland, the Russian Federation, Senegal, Slovak Republic, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and the United States of America provided troops, military observers and civilian police to this Mission.

Prepared by the Department of Peacekeeping Operations
Not an official document of the United Nations
Last updated: 07 March 2001

UN Medals Home Page | Main Page | UN Home Page