UN Medals: UNMOP


Undisplayed Graphic

This observer Mission was established in January 1996 under Resolution 1038 (1996). The mandate was to monitor the demilitarization of the Prevlaka peninsula in accordance with Resolutions 779 (1992) and 981 (1995).

The countries of Argentina, Bangladesh, Belgium, Brazil, Canada, Czech Republic, Denmark, Egypt, Finland, Ghana, Indonesia, Ireland, Jordan, Kenya, Nepal, New Zealand, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Poland, Portugal, the Russian Federation, Sweden, Switzerland and Ukraine provided military observers to this Mission.

A medal was established in May 1996 and the qualifying time is 90 days of service in the Mission. The ribbon has a dark blue background which represents the waters of the Prevlaka peninsula. The yellow central stripe represents the sun that rises, promising a peaceful and prosperous future and is flanked by thin white stripes. These are followed on either side by a band of dark blue and UN blue representing peace.

Return to Medals General Information Page

(Effective 16 June 1997)