UN Medals: UNMIL


By its resolution 1509 (2003) of 19 September 2003 , the Security Council established the United Nations Mission in Liberia (UNMIL) from 19 September 2003.

The UNMIL medal was established on 1 October 2003 . The ribbon bears two outer bands of United Nations blue, representing the UN presence in the Republic of Liberia . Inside the bands of UN blue are two bands of white, which represents the dawn of Peace and Progress. The red and dark blue bands in the centre reflect the main Liberian National Colours, and the Atlantic Ocean Coastline which is the Symbol of Unity throughout the Country. The qualifying service for receipt of the medal is 90 days continuous service with the Mission.

Personnel contributors are: The People's Republic of Bangladesh, the Republic of Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Bulgaria, the People's Republic of China, Croatia, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Ecuador, the Arab Republic of Egypt, El Salvador, the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia, the Republic of the Fiji Islands, Finland, France, Gambia, Ghana, the Republic of Indonesia, Ireland, Jamaica, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, the Republic of Kenya, the Kyrgyz Republic, the Republic of Malawi, Malaysia, the Republic of Mali, the Republic of Moldova, the Republic of Namibia, the Kingdom of Nepal, the Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Paraguay, Peru, the Republic of the Philippines, Poland, Portugal, the Republic of Korea, Romania, the Russian Federation, the Independent State of Samoa, the Republic of Senegal, Serbia and Montenegro, the Republic of South Africa, the Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka, Sweden, Togo, Turkey, the Republic of Uganda, Ukraine, United Kingdom, the United States of America, Uruguay, the Republic of Yemen, the Republic of Zambia, and the Republic of Zimbabwe.

Prepared by the Department of Peacekeeping Operations
Not an official document of the United Nations
Last updated: 28 October 2004

UN Medals Home Page | Main Page | UN Home Page