UN Medals: UNMIK


Undisplayed Graphic

UNMIK was established on 10 June 1999 by adoption of the Security Council Resolution 1244. The goal of the mission is the resolution of the grave humanitarian situation in Kosovo, through the implementation of return of refugees and prevention of the escalation of conflict between parties in the region.

The UNMIK medal was established in September 1999. The ribbon has two outer bands of light UN blue, symbolizing the presence of the United Nations. The inner band in dark blue symbolizes the International Security presence and the cooperation and support received from it. The two bands in white symbolize the overall objective to promote peace for all the people in Kosovo.

Qualifying time of service for the reception of an UNMIK medal is six months. The following countries participate in the Military and Civilian Police components of UNMIK: Argentina, Austria, Bangladesh, Belgium, Benin, Bolivia, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Côte D'Ivoire, Czech Republic, Denmark, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Estonia, Fiji, Finland, France, Gambia, Germany, Ghana, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, India, Ireland, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Kyrgyztan, Lithuania, Malawi, Malaysia, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Niger, Nigeria, Norway, Pakistan, Philippines, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russian Federation, Senegal, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Turkey, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, United States of America, Zambia, Zimbabwe.

Prepared by the Department of Peacekeeping Operations
Not an official document of the United Nations
Last updated: 07 March 2001

UN Medals Home Page | Main Page | UN Home Page