UN Medals: UNMEE


Undisplayed Graphic

The Mission was established on 15 September 2000 by the adoption of the Security Council Resolution 1320. The main goals of the Mission are to monitor the cessation of hostilities, to assist in ensuring the observance of the security commitments agreed by the parties, to monitor and verify the redeployment of Ethiopian forces from positions taken, to monitor the positions of Ethiopian forces once redeployed and the positions of Eritrean forces.

The UNMEE medal was established in January 2001. The ribbon has two outer bands of UN blue, symbolizing the presence of the United Nations. The inner band in green symbolizes hope and fertility of the land. The two bands in tan symbolize religious freedom and the ruggedness of the country.

Qualifying time of service for the reception of UNMEE medal is 90 days. Following countries participate in the Military and the Civilian Police component of UNMEE: Algeria, Austria, Bangladesh, Canada, China, Finland, Ghana, India, Italy, Jordan, Kenya, Malaysia, Nepal, Netherlands, Norway, Peru, Poland, Romania, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, Tunisia, Ukraine, the United Republic of Tanzania, Uruguay and Zambia.

Prepared by the Department of Peacekeeping Operations
Not an official document of the United Nations
Last updated: 07 March 2001

UN Medals Home Page | Main Page | UN Home Page