By its resolution 1542 (2004) of 30 April 2004 , the Security Council established the United Nations Stabilization Mission in Haiti ) from 1 June 2004.

The ribbon bears a band of four colours as follows: The Blue represents the United Nations. The Green symbolizes the lush green countryside and economic potential of Haiti; the Royal Blue symbolizes the ocean surrounding the island of Hispaniola ; the White symbolizes the promise of peace for the Haitian people. The qualifying service for receipt of the medal is 90 days continuous service with the Mission.

Personnel contributors are: Argentina , the Republic of Benin, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, the Republic of Cameroon, Canada, the Republic of Chad, Chile, the People's Republic of China, Croatia, France, Ghana, Guatemala, the Hashemite Kingdom of Jordan, the Kingdom of Nepal, the Niger, Paraguay, Peru, Portugal, the Republic of Senegal, Turkey, the United States of America and Uruguay.

Prepared by the Department of Peacekeeping Operations
Not an official document of the United Nations
Last updated: 28 October 2004

UN Medals Home Page | Main Page | UN Home Page