Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

Remember the Fallen

Nigeria, 26 August 2011

The United Nations House in the Nigerian capital, Abuja, home to 26 UN agencies and programmes, was struck by a car bomb 26 August 2011. A total of 24 people were killed. Twelve were UN staff, including one international staff member. More than 80 were wounded.

UN Deputy Secretary-General Asha-Rose Migiro speaking to the
press outside the national hospital in Abuja, on 28 August, after
visiting people injured in the attack. (UN Photo/AP/Rebecca Blackwell)

Four days after the attack, on 30 August 2011, Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon briefed the UN Security Council on the car bombing. "What we know is that this attack was the work of a suicide bomber who rammed a sport utility vehicle, at high speed, through the exit gates of the UN compound", he said, saluting the courage and dedication of the UN team in Abuja "for whom this is such a sad and terrible blow."

Deputy-Secretary-General Asha-Rose Migiro went to Abuja immediately after the attack, and briefed UN Headquarters staff on her return. She said staff in Nigeria had expressed their outrage to her, and concern for their injured colleagues. She told the gathered New York staff "I share every ounce of their outrage".

The Fallen

Ms. Rahmat Abdullahi, Registry Clerk, UNDP
Mr. Musa Ali, Zonal Logistics Assistant for the North-west Zone, WHO
Mr. Johnson Awotunde, Monitoring and Evaluation Specialist, UNICEF
Dr. Edward Dede, National Professional Officer, WHO
Mr. Elisha Enaburekhan, Driver, UNAIDS
Mr. Ahmed Abiodun Adewale Kareem, Shipping Assistant, UNICEF
Ms. Ingrid Midtgaard, Associate Expert, UNODC
Mr. Iliya David Musa, Receptionist, UN Common Services, UNDP
Mrs. Felicia Nkwuokwu, Receptionist, UN Common Services, UNDP
Mr. Sunday Nwachukwu, staff member, UNDP
Mr. Stephen Obamoh, ERT Radio Operator/Driver, UNDP
Mr. Abraham A. Osunsaya, Administrative Assistant, WHO
Mr. Fred Simiyu Willis, Health Expert, UNICEF

UN Web Services Section, Department of Public Information, United Nations © 2011