Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

Remember the Fallen

The Dag Hammarskjöld medal will be awarded posthumously to the 129 UN personnel members who died in the line of duty from January to December 2015 at a 19 May 2016 ceremony at UN Headquarters in New York. The ceremony is being held in advance of the International Day of UN Peacekeepers on 29 May 2016.

Serving the cause of peace in a violent world is a dangerous occupation.  Since the founding of the United Nations, hundreds of brave men and women have lost their lives in its service.

Ole Bakke, a Norwegian serving in Palestine, was the first – gunned down in July 1948.  Count Folke Bernadotte of Sweden, UN Mediator in Palestine, was the second – assassinated two months later. 

The UN’s leadership was cut down in 1961, when Secretary-General Dag Hammarskjöld, along with 15 others, died in a plane crash in the Congo while seeking peace. 

Three decades later, the growing number and scale of UN peacekeeping missions put many more at risk. More lives were lost during the 1990s than in the previous 4 decades combined.

In the last decade, the UN itself became a target: its premises attacked in Baghdad in 2003, Algiers in 2007, and Kabul in 2009.   

“At the outset of my tenure, let me assure you that I attach the highest importance to ensuring that UN staff have the safety and security they need to carry out their vital missions. ...

Effective security management, responsive and accountable, cannot be an afterthought or be short-changed in our budgeting. It is a core aspect of our global operations, which we must always strive to improve.”

Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon
in a message to the Seventh Summit on the Safety
and Security of UN Staff and Associated Personnel
16 January 2007

Natural disasters also claim the lives of those serving the UN.  The Haiti earthquake in 2010 resulted in 102 deaths, the largest single loss in its history.

Here we remember those often forgotten – those who have died in the service of the United Nations – the fallen.

UN Web Services Section, Department of Public Information, United Nations © 2011