Sixth Committee (Legal) — 62nd session

Observer status for the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf in the General Assembly (agenda item 166)

Summary of work


The item was included in the agenda at the request of Saudi Arabia.

Consideration at the sixty-second session

The Committee considered the item at its 25th and 27th meetings, on 5 and 12 November 2007.

Action taken by the Sixth Committee

At the 25th meeting, on 5 November 2007, the representative of  Saudi Arabia, also on behalf of Afghanistan, Algeria, Bahrain, Belarus, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, China, the Comoros, Costa Rica, Cuba, Djibouti, the Dominican Republic, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, the Gambia, Guatemala, Guinea-Bissau, Indonesia, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Lesotho, the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya, Malaysia, Mali, Mauritania, Morocco, Myanmar, Nepal, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, the Philippines, Qatar, Sao Tome and Principe, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Singapore, Somalia, South Africa, the Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, the Syrian Arab Republic, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine, the United Arab Emirates, the United Republic of Tanzania, the United States of America, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe and Palestine, subsequently joined by Albania, Angola, Antigua and Barbuda, Brazil, Brunei Darussalam, India, Japan, Madagascar, the Niger, the Russian Federation, Thailand and Togo, introduced a draft resolution entitled “Observer status for the Cooperation Council for the Arab States of the Gulf in the General Assembly” (A/C.6/62/L.7 ). At its 27th meeting, on 12 November, the Committee adopted draft resolution A/C.6/62/L.7 without a vote. The representative of the Islamic Republic of Iran made a statement in explanation of position after the adoption of the draft resolution.

Quick Links

Key Documents