Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.


United Nations, New York, 7 October 2011

President of the General Assembly Applauds Nobel Prize Winners


The President of the General Assembly, H.E. Mr. Nassir Abdulaziz Al-Nasser, warmly welcomes the decision of the Noble Prize Committee to award the 2011 Nobel Peace Prize to three distinguished women from Liberia and Yemen, in recognition of their struggle for women’s rights.

President Al-Nasser believes that the award stands as a true testament to the great potential that women represent for democracy and peace.

The President of General Assembly congratulates President Ellen Johnson Sirleaf of Liberia, Ms. Leymah Gbowee of Liberia and Ms. Tawakkul Karman of Yemen for their determined activism in support of women’s rights and peace, which has now earned them worldwide recognition through the Nobel Prize.

These are heroic women who have sacrificed, worked hard and showed true leadership over many years to improve the conditions of millions of people, especially in their own countries. The award of the Nobel Prize to these remarkable women can only inspire many more millions around the world to work for women’s empowerment, human rights, peace and sustainable development – ideals that are at the core of the UN Charter. In fact, the UN Security Council recognized the contribution of women in peace and security by adopting Resolution 1325 in October 2000.

The President of the General Assembly wholeheartedly applauds the three winners for their bravery and determination and extends his best wishes to them, their supporters and colleagues around the world, especially in Liberia and Yemen.



* * *