Awards and Contests title

The World Future Council Future Policy Award

The World Future Council Future Policy Award

Each year the World Future Council (WFC) spotlights exemplary policies that bring the interest of future generations to the forefront of policy-making. In connection with the International Year of Forests 2011, the WFC collaborated with the United Nations Forum on Forests Secretariat, the Food and Agriculture Organization and the Secretariat of the Convention on Biological Diversity to honour the best in forest policy for the 2011 Future Policy Award.

This year’s winners represented the most inspiring, innovative and influential forest policies. An international panel awarded Rwanda’s National Forest Policy the gold medal, honouring its work in biodiversity conservation, ecotourism and green jobs which increased forest cover by 37 percent since 1990. Silver medals were awarded jointly to USA’s Lacey Act for tackling the problem of illegal timber trade, and Gambia’s Community Forest Policy for providing local communities with secure and permanent forest ownership rights. Winners were announced at a press conference in New York at UN Headquarters on 21 September, followed by an awards ceremony that evening.

More information on the Future Policy Award is available at

Gold and Silver medal winners - Photo © WFC

H.E. Eugène-Richard Gasana, Ambassador of the Permanent Mission of Rwanda to the UN Carl Lewis, Olympic gold medalist and Goodwill Ambassador of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the UN Hon. Jato S. Sillah, Minister of Forestry and the Environment, The Gambia. Photo © WFC

Silver medal winner USA - Photo © WFC

Jakob von Uexkull, Founder of the World Future Council
Charles Barber, Forest Division Chief of the Department of State, U.S. 
Daniel Reifsnyder, Deputy Assistant Secretary of State for Environment and Sustainable Development, U.S. Photo © WFC