Skip navigation
Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.



The current members of the Advisory Group were selected based on their experience and knowledge of the various challenges facing international development cooperation as well as their positions in key organizations and stakeholder groups. The Group consists of representatives from national governments, including bilateral donor agencies, international and regional institutions, civil society organizations, academia and the private sector. The members serve in their private capacity.

The composition of the Group offers a rich mix of policy-making competencies, analytical expertise, experience with operational activities and engagement in advocacy in the area of development cooperation at the regional and/or global level. In order to further ensure equitable geographical and gender representation, new members may be added as requested by the Under-Secretary-General of UNDESA.

List of Members (as of June 2013)

  • Chair: Hongbo, Wu, Under-Secretary-General (Chair), Department of Economic and Social Affairs, United Nations
  • Luis Alfonso DE ALBA, Permanent Representative of Mexico to the United Nations / Vice President of the Economic and Social Council, Mexico
  • Maria Andrea ALBAN, Director, International Cooperation, Ministry of External Relations, Colombia
  • Shoayb CASOO, Director South African Development Partnership Agency (SADPA), Office of the Director-General, Department of International Relations and Cooperation, South Africa
  • Helder DA COSTA, Director of the International Secretariat of the g7+, Ministry of Finance, Timor-Leste
  • Martin DAHINDEN, Director-General, Swiss Agency for Development and Cooperation
  • Fokion FOTIADIS, Director-General for Development, European Commission
  • Anders B. JOHNSON, Secretary-General, Inter-Parliamentary Union
  • Sigrid KAAG, Assistant Secretary-General and Director Bureau for Resources and Strategic Partnerships, United Nations Development Programme
  • Joanna KERR, Chief Executive, Action Aid
  • Klaus LEISINGER, Chairman of the Board of Trustees, Novartis Foundation
  • Michael LINHART, Director General for Development Cooperation, Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs, Austria
  • Jon LOMØY, Director, OECD Development Cooperation Directorate
  • Jean-Baptiste MATTEI, Director General of Global Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, France
  • Ibrahim Assane MAYAKI, Agency Chief Executive Officer, New Partnership for Africa's Development (NEPAD)
  • Mayra MORO-COCO, Development Policy and Advocacy Manager, Association for Women's Rights in Development
  • Ursula MUELLER, Director General for Policy Issues and Political Governance of Bilateral Development Cooperation, Federal Ministry of Economic Cooperation and Development, Germany
  • Admasu NEBEBE, Director, UN Agencies and Regional Economic Cooperation Directorate, Ministry of Finance and Economic Development, Ethiopia
  • Hardeep Singh PURI, Former Permanent Representative of India to the United Nations, India
  • Josep ROIG, Secretary-General, United Cities and Local Governments
  • Kampeta SAYINZOGA, Permanent Secretary and Secretary of the Treasury, Ministry of Finance and Economic Development, Rwanda
  • SHIN Dong-ik, Deputy Minister for Multilateral and Global Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Republic of Korea
  • Birama Boubacar SIDIBE, Vice President (Operations), Islamic Development Bank
  • Anne SIPILAINEN, Under-Secretary of State for Development Policy and Cooperation, Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Finland
  • Anthony SMITH, Director, International Relations Division, Department for International Development, United Kingdom
  • Danny SRISKANDARAJAH, Secretary-General, CIVICUS - World Alliance for Citizen Participation
  • Tony TUJAN, jr., International Director and Chairperson, IBON and Reality of Aid Network
  • Lukita Dinarsyah TUWO, Vice Minister of National Development Planning / National Development Planning Agency (BAPPENAS), Indonesia
  • Christopher WALLACE, Deputy Minister for Economic Affairs and Policy, Ministry of Planning and Economic Affairs, Liberia
  • Hadil da Rocha VIANNA, Under-Secretary-General for Cooperation, Culture and Trade Promotion, Ministry of External Relations, Brazil
  • ZHOU Yiping, Director, UN Office for South-South Cooperation
  • ZHU Min, Deputy Managing Director, International Monetary Fund