ECOSOC High-level Segment
29 June - 01 July 2005
New York

Statements made during High-level Segment

"Achieving the internationally agreed development goals, including those contained in the Millennium Declaration, as well as implementing the outcomes of the major United Nations conferences and summits: progress made, challenges and opportunities"


Wednesday 29 June 2005 a.m. session
10:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m Opening Session (ECOSOC Chamber)
10:00 - 10:15 a.m.

Opening statement:
H.E. Mr. Munir Akram, President of ECOSOC
H.E. Mr. Kofi Annan, Secretary-General of the United Nations

10:15 - 11:00 a.m. Voices against Poverty
11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m High-Level Policy Dialogue on current developments in the world economy and international economic cooperation in the context of achieving the Millennium Development Goals
Wednesday 29 June 2005 p.m. session
Back to top
Round tables
30 June a.m. session
Back to top

Keynote address by:

Introductory statement by:

Statements by:

Panel on employment for growth

Chairman: H.E. Mr. Munir Akram, Permanent Representative of Pakistan
Moderator: Dr. Ezra Suruma, Minister for Finance, Planning and Economic Development of Uganda
Panellists: Mr. José Antonio Ocampo, Under-Secretary General for Economic and Social Affairs; Ms. Odile Quintin, Director-General for Employment, Social Affairs and Equal Opportunities, European Commission; and Ms. Jane Stewart, Deputy Executive Director, Employment Sector, International Labour Organization


30 June p.m. session
Back to top

Keynote address by:

  • H.E. Mr. Gérard Latortue, Prime Minister of Haiti

Statements by:

1 July a.m. session
Back to top

Statements by:

1 July p.m. session
Back to top

Statements by:

  • H.E. Mr. Armen Martirosyan, Permanent Representative of Armenia
  • H.E. Mr. Ronaldo Mota Sardenberg, Permanent Representative of Brazil
  • H.E. Mr. Iftekhar Ahmed Chowdhury, Permanent Representative of Bangladesh
  • H.E. Mr. Marvello Spatafora, Permanent Representative of Italy
  • H.E. Mr. Chem Widhya, Permanent Representative of Cambodia
  • H.E. Mr. Mourad Benmehidi, Deputy Permanent Representative of Algeria
  • H.E. Mr. Hamad Hareb Al-Habsi, Deputy Permanent Representative of the United Arab Emirates
  • H.E. Mr. Zhang Yishan, Deputy Permanent Representative of China
  • H.E. Mr. Aleg Ivanou, Deputy Permanent Representative of Belarus
  • H.E. Mr. Giancarlo Soler, Deputy Permanent Representative of Panama
  • Mr. Kazuo Sunago, Representative of Japan
  • H.E. Mr. Fuad Al-Hinai, Permanent Representative of Oman
  • Mr. Winston Cox, Deputy Secretary-General of the Commonwealth Secretariat
  • Mr. Robert Barnes, Vice-President of the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies
  • Mrs. Ndioro Ndiaye, Deputy Director-General of the International Organization for Migration
  • Mr. Andrew Dentz, Special Adviser, Global Policy of the International Union for the Conservation of Nature and Natural Resources
  • H.E. Mr. Ali Mchumo, Managing Director, Common Fund for Commodities
  • Mr. Syed Shahid Hussain, Chargé d’affaires of the Organization of the Islamic Conference
  • Mr. James Morris, Executive Director of the World Food Programme
  • Ms. Thoraya Ahmed Obaid, Executive Director of the United Nations Population Fund
  • Mr. Arthur Levin, Chief Coordinator, External Relations and Communications of the International Telecommunication Union
  • Ms. Brigita Schmognerova, Executive Secretary, Economic Commission for Europe