Conference on Sustainable Urban Growth and Architecture

ECOSOC Chamber, 6 June 2005
  Co-sponsored by the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA), the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), the United Nations Human Settlements Programme (UN-Habitat), and the United Nations Fund for International Partnerships (UNFIP)

Biographies of participants


Welcoming Remarks by H.E. Mr. Munir Akram, Permanent Representative of Pakistan to the United Nations, President of ECOSOC


Opening Remarks by Mr. José Antonio Ocampo, Under-Secretary-General for Economic and Social Affairs


Opening statements by Mrs. Anna Tibaijuka, Executive Director, UN-HABITAT; and Mr. Klaus Töpfer, Executive Director, UNEP.


Session l: Sustainable Architecture


Mr. Ken Yeang, Architect, T.R. Hamzah & Yeang Sdn. Bhd. , Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

  Mr. Richard Cook, Architect, Cook + Fox Architects, New York
  Mr. Andrew Zumwalt-Hathaway, Former co-chair of the committee on Environment, AIA, and Associate , Steven Winter Associates, Inc., New York.
  Session 2: Sustainable Urban Growth
  H.E. Ms. Sonia Tschorne Berestesky, Minister of Housing and Urban Development of Chile
  Mr. John Alkali, Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Housing and Urban Development of Nigeria
  Professor Mona Serageldin, Adj. Professor of Urban Planning, Harvard University and Associate Director, Institute for International Urban Development

Professor José Forjaz, CEO and Founder, José Forjaz Arquitectos , Mozambique

  Mr. Philip Enquist, Urban Design Partner for Skidmore, Owings & Merrill LLP, Chicago;