

## Commemoration of the 70th Anniversary of ECOSOC

## Friday, 22 January 2016, 10am-1pm Economic and Social Council Chamber

## **Programme**

10:00 am Film: "ECOSOC at 70"

10:05 am Opening remarks

❖ His Excellency Oh Joon, President of the Economic and Social Council

❖ Mr. Jan Eliasson, Deputy Secretary-General, United Nations

10:20 am Keynote address

His Excellency Narendra Damodardas Modi, Prime Minister of India (via video)

10:25 am Milestones and perspectives

Former Presidents of the Economic and Social Council:

- ❖ His Excellency Juan Somavia, Chile (1993, 1998)
- ❖ His Excellency Ahmad Kamal, Pakistan (1995)
- ❖ His Excellency Karel Kovanda, Czech Republic (1997)
- ❖ His Excellency Gert Rosenthal, Guatemala (2003)
- ❖ Her Excellency Sylvie Lucas, Luxembourg (2009)
- ❖ His Excellency Miloš Koterec, Slovak Republic (2012)

Former Secretary of the Economic and Social Council:

Mr. Rafeeuddin Ahmed, former Secretary of ECOSOC, Chef de Cabinet of the Secretary-General and Under-Secretary-General of United Nations Department of International Economic and Social Affairs

11:15 am ECOSOC and the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development

- Moderator: Mr. Warren Hoge, Senior Advisor for External Relations, International Peace Institute
- His Excellency David Donoghue, Permanent Representative of Ireland to the United Nations and Co-facilitator, Intergovernmental negotiations on the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development



- Mr. Jose Antonio Ocampo, Chair, Committee for Development Policy, former Under-Secretary-General of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs
- Ms. Sarah Cliffe, Director, Center on International Cooperation, New York University
- Mr. Rakesh Rajani, Director, Civic Engagement and Government, Ford Foundation
- Mr. Ahmad Alhendawi, United Nations Secretary-General's Envoy on Youth Nations Secretary-General's Envoy on Youth

12:15 pm Interventions by Member States and stakeholders

1:00 pm Closure