Volume 14, No.2 - February 2010

Comings and goings


image of mr alex trepelkov

Mr. Alexander Trepelkov was appointed, effective 1 January 2010, Director of the Financing for Development Office in DESA, following six years of service as Chief of Branch. Since 2000, his main function was to support the engagement of multiple stakeholders from the official and private sectors in the Financing for Development process, in order to promote policy coherence, coordination and cooperation at all levels.

His professional experience includes substantive support for intergovernmental deliberations on the 2002 Monterrey Consensus, 2005 World Summit Outcome, 2008 Doha Declaration on Financing for Development and, most recently, the outcome document of the 2009 Conference on the World Financial and Economic Crisis and Its Impact on Development.

His previous assignments at United Nations Headquarters (1989-1999) were in the areas of Macroeconomics and Development Policy. Prior to joining the United Nations Secretariat, he had a diplomatic career of twelve years in the Foreign Service of the former Soviet Union. Mr. Trepelkov holds MA and Ph.D. in Economics from MGIMO-University and authored several publications.


The following staff members were promoted in December:

  • Paul Hanna, Statistician, Statistics Division
  • Richard A. Roehrl, Sustainable Development Officer, Division for Sustainable Development
  • Simone Wilson, Associate Social Affairs Officer, Division for Social Policy and Development

The following staff members retired in January:

  • Jaspreet Doung, Statistics Assistant, Statistics Division
  • Graham Osborn, Statistics Assistant, Statistics Division
  • Zin Lin, Statistics Assistant, Statistics Division


The following staff members retired in January:

  • Elenita Chien, Administrative Officer, Statistics Division
  • Anita Frederick, Administrative Assistant, Office for ECOSOC Support and Coordination