United Nations and the Nobel Peace Prize

2005 - International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA)

The Norwegian Nobel Committee selected the IAEA and its Director General Mohamed ElBaradei (see left) as the recipients of the 2005 Nobel Peace Prize due to “… their efforts to prevent nuclear energy from being used for military purposes and to ensure that nuclear energy for peaceful purposes is used in the safest possible way”. Director General ElBaradei said, “What do I feel at this occasion?

IAEA, Mohamed ElBaradei