Welcome to the United Nations. It's your world.

History of the United Nations


Date Milestones
18 September 1961
Secretary-General Dag Hammarskjöld in the airport in Elisabethville in 1960, prior to his return in Leopoldville.

Secretary-General Dag Hammarskjold dies in an aircraft crash while on mission to Congo.

He is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize posthumously in 1961.

Security Council Special Report on the fatal flight of the aircraft carrying Secretary-General Dag Hammarskjold.

3 November 1961
Secretary-General U Thant during a press conference in 1964.
The General Assembly nominates U Thant as Secretary General of the United Nations.
7 August 1963
Security Council votes voluntary arms embargo against South Africa.
4 March 1964
Peacekeepers in Cyprus
Security Council approves dispatch of peacekeeping force to Cyprus.
Nobel Peace Prize
UNICEF, the United Nations Children's Fund, is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for 1965.
27 October 1966
The UN General Assembly strips South Africa of its mandate to govern South-West Africa (Namibia).
16 December 1966
The Security Council impose mandatory sanctions against Rhodesia (now Zimbabwe).
22 November 1967
Meeting of the Security Council
Following the six-day war in 1967, the Security Council, after lengthy negotiations, adopts resolution 242 (1967), as the basis for achieving peace in the Middle East.
12 June 1968
General Assembly approves the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons and calls for its ratification.
4 January 1969
The International Convention on the Elimination of All Forms of Racial Discrimination comes into force.
Nobel Peace Prize
The International Labour Organization (ILO) is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for 1969.

Top of the Page