目前状况

  随着联合国剩下的最后一个托管领土帕劳于1994年10月1日取得独立,托管理事会于1994年11月1日停止运作。理事会1994年5月25日通过决议,决定修改其议事规则,取消每年举行会议的规定,并同意视需要举行会议——理事会或理事会主席作出决定,或理事会多数成员或大会或安全理事会提出要求。

背景

  《宪章》在建立国际托管制度过程中设立了托管理事会,作为联合国的一个主要机关,并规定其任务为监督置于托管制度之下的托管领土的管理。托管制度的主要目标是促进托管领土居民的进展以及托管领土朝自治或独立方向的逐渐发展。托管理事会由安全理事会的五个常任理事国组成--即中国、法国、俄罗斯联邦、联合王国和美国。

  托管制度的目的已经充分实现,所有的托管领土均已取得自治或独立,有的成为单独的国家,有的加入相邻的独立国家。

职能和权力

  《宪章》规定,托管理事会有权审查并讨论管理当局就托管领土人民的政治、经济、社会和教育方面进展提出的报告,会同管理当局审查托管领土的请愿书,并对托管领土进行定期的和其他特别的视察。


来源:
1. 《关于联合国的基本事实》,出售品编号:E.95.I.31。
2. ORG/1211/Rev.1号新闻稿。

UN Home

本网页由联合国新闻部信息技术事务司编制与维持。©联合国 2000-2010年

UN HomeDocumentation CentreAbout the UN


Status
The Trusteeship Council suspended operation on 1 November 1994, with the independence of Palau, the last remaining United Nations trust territory, on 1 October 1994. By a resolution adopted on 25 May 1994, the Council amended its rules of procedure to drop the obligation to meet annually and agreed to meet as occasion required -- by its decision or the decision of its President, or at the request of a majority of its members or the General Assembly or the Security Council.


Background
In setting up an International Trusteeship System, the Charter established the Trusteeship Council as one of the main organs of the United Nations and assigned to it the task of supervising the administration of Trust Territories placed under the Trusteeship System. Major goals of the System were to promote the advancement of the inhabitants of Trust Territories and their progressive development towards self-government or independence. TheTrusteeship Council is made up of the five permanent members of the Security Council --China, France, Russian Federation, United Kingdom and United States.

The aims of the Trusteeship System have been fulfilled to such an extent that all Trust Territories have attained self-government or independence, either as separate States or by joining neighbouring independent countries.


Functions and powers
Under the Charter, the Trusteeship Council is authorized to examine and discuss reports from the Administering Authority on the political, economic, social and educational advancement of the peoples of Trust Territories and, in consultation with the Administering Authority, to examine petitions from and undertake periodic and other special missions to Trust Territories.



Sources: Basic Facts About the United Nations, ISBN 92-1-100850-6, Sales No. E.00.I.21 (Order now!)

Prepared for Internet by the UN Website Section, Department of Public Information - United Nations 2004