United Nations

Decision 51/306

General Assembly



               51/306.  Election of five non-permanent members of
                        the Security Council

     At its 39th plenary meeting, on 21 October 1996, the General Assembly,
in accordance with Article 23 of the Charter of the United Nations and rule
142 of the rules of procedure of the Assembly, elected Costa Rica, Japan,
Kenya, Portugal and Sweden non-permanent members of the Security Council for a
two-year term of office beginning on 1 January 1997 to fill the vacancies
occurring on the expiration of the terms of office of Botswana, Germany,
Honduras, Indonesia and Italy.

     As a result, the Security Council is composed of the following fifteen
Member States:  Chile,* Costa Rica,** China, Egypt,* France, Guinea-Bissau,*
Japan,** Kenya,** Poland,* Portugal,** Russian Federation, Republic of Korea,*
Sweden,** United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and United
States of America.


     * Term of office expires on 31 December 1997.
    ** Term of office expires on 31 December 1998.

This document has been posted online by the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA). Reproduction and dissemination of the document - in electronic and/or printed format - is encouraged, provided acknowledgement is made of the role of the United Nations in making it available. Please note that the decisions of the General Assembly on Elections and Appointments are numbered from 301 onward.  All others are numbered from 401 onward.

Date last posted: 23 February 2000
Comments and suggestions: esa@un.org