United Nations

Decision 51/303

General Assembly



           51/303.  Election of the Chairmen of the Main Committees 1/

     On 17 September 1996, the six Main Committees of the General Assembly
held meetings, in accordance with rule 103 of the rules of procedure of the
Assembly, for the purpose of electing their Chairmen.

     At the 2nd plenary meeting, on 17 September 1996, the President of the
General Assembly announced that the following persons had been elected
Chairmen of the Main Committees:

     First Committee:  Mr. Alyaksandr SYCHOU (Belarus)

     Special Political and Decolonization Committee (Fourth Committee):
     Mr. Alounke`o KITTIKHOUN (Lao People's Democratic Republic)
     Second Committee:  Mr. Arjan HAMBURGER (Netherlands)

     Third Committee:  Mrs. Patricia ESPINOSA (Mexico) 

     Fifth Committee:  Mr. Ngoni Francis SENGWE (Zimbabwe)

     Sixth Committee:  Mr. Ramo'n ESCOVAR-SALOM (Venezuela)


1/  In accordance with rule 38 of the rules of procedure of the General
Assembly, the General Committee consists of the President of the Assembly, the
21 Vice-Presidents and the Chairmen of the six Main Committees.

This document has been posted online by the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA). Reproduction and dissemination of the document - in electronic and/or printed format - is encouraged, provided acknowledgement is made of the role of the United Nations in making it available. Please note that the decisions of the General Assembly on Elections and Appointments are numbered from 301 onward.  All others are numbered from 401 onward.

Date last posted: 23 February 2000
Comments and suggestions: esa@un.org