Flying doves
 

Disarmament Today

Disarmament Today consiste en une série de podcasts consacrés aux questions actuelles dans le domaine du désarmement, qui sont produits par le Bureau des affaires de désarmement. Pour y souscrire, veuillez copier et coller l'adresse URL suivante pour la transférer sur un baladeur:


Entretien avec Mme Setsuko Thurlow, survivante des bombes atomiques et porte-parole spéciale en faveur d’un monde exempt d’armes nucléaires

Entretien avec Mme Setsuko Thurlow, survivante des bombes atomiques et porte-parole spéciale en faveur d’un monde exempt d’armes nucléaires

Mme Setsuko Thurlow a été nommée par le Gouvernement japonais porte-parole spéciale en faveur d’un monde exempt d’armes nucléaires. Elle est née et a grandi à Hiroshima, et a connu les bombardements atomiques à l’âge de 13 ans. Elle garde un vif souvenir du 6 août 1945, le jour où la bombe atomique a été larguée sur Hiroshima, ainsi que des souffrances physiques et mentales qu’elle-même et de nombreux survivants ont endurées par la suite. Après le bombardement, elle s’est mise à fréquenter une église chrétienne locale à Hiroshima, dans l’espoir de trouver un sens à la vie. Sur le plan professionnel, elle s’est consacrée au travail social aux États-Unis et au Canada.

En tant que survivante des bombes atomiques, elle s’emploie avec détermination à relater les événements d’Hiroshima. La plupart des survivants sont devenus vieux et beaucoup sont morts, de sorte que le nombre de « Hibakusha » (survivants des bombes atomiques) en mesure de raconter ce qu’ils ont vécu diminue. Pour Mme Thurlow, il faut impérativement relater aux plus jeunes les événements qui se sont déroulés ce terrible jour et les conséquences qui en ont résulté. C’est l’une des raisons pour lesquelles elle est devenue membre d’une organisation non gouvernementale dénommée « Histoires d’Hibakusha », qui cherche à transmettre à une nouvelle génération l’héritage laissé par les bombardements atomiques de Hiroshima et Nagasaki et à lui donner les moyens de bâtir un monde sans armes nucléaires. Aujourd’hui mariée, elle a deux fils et deux petites-filles, et vit au Canada. Elle a consacré 40 années de sa vie au désarmement nucléaire.

Photo Credit: Emilie McGlone, Peace Boat

Entretien avec Kathleen Sullivan sur l'éducation 
dans le domaine du désarmement et de la non-prolifération

Entretien avec Kathleen Sullivan sur l'éducation dans le domaine du désarmement et de la non-prolifération

Kathleen Sullivan, une éducatrice qui milite en faveur du désarmement, a consacré plus de 20 ans de sa vie à lutter contre les armes nucléaires. Elle est actuellement Directrice de programme pour Hibakusha Stories, une initiative artistique dans le cadre de laquelle des rescapés des bombes atomiques viennent témoigner de leur expérience dans des établissements secondaires à New York. Elle a été consultante en éducation auprès du Bureau des affaires de désarmement de l'ONU à New York et a produit deux films sur les rescapés de Nagasaki : The Last Atomic Bomb (2005) et The Ultimate Wish (à paraître prochainement).

Flying doves
 

Disarmament Today

Disarmament Today is a series of podcasts about present-day disarmament issues, produced by the Office for Disarmament Affairs.

To subscribe to this podcast, copy and paste the following URL into a podcasting tool:


An interview with Ms. Setsuko Thurlow, Atomic Bomb Survivor and Special Communicator for a World Without Nuclear Weapons

An interview with Ms. Setsuko Thurlow, Atomic Bomb Survivor and Special Communicator for a World Without Nuclear Weapons

Setsuko Thurlow has been appointed by the Government of Japan as a special communicator for a world without nuclear weapons. She was born and raised in Hiroshima and experienced the atomic bombing at the age of 13. She remembers vividly the 6th of August 1945, the day the atomic bomb was dropped on Hiroshima, and the hardships she and many survivors endured physically and mentally thereafter. Subsequent to the atomic bombing, she started attending a local Christian church in Hiroshima in the hope of finding meaning in her life. Professionally, she practiced social work in the USA and Canada.

As a survivor of the atomic bombing, she is strongly committed to tell the story of Hiroshima. Most survivors are getting old and many are passing away, leaving a smaller number of Hibakusha (atomic bomb survivors) to tell their stories. Ms. Thurlow feels it is imperative to tell the younger generations of that terrible day and its aftermath. This is one of the reasons why she joined a non-governmental organization called "Hibakusha Stories" which passes the legacy of the atomic bombings of Hiroshima and Nagasaki to a new generation, and empowers them with tools to build a world free of nuclear weapons. She is married with two sons and two granddaughters and currently lives in Canada. She has devoted over 40 years of her life to nuclear disarmament.

Photo Credit: Emilie McGlone, Peace Boat

An interview with Ms. Theresa Hitchens on: SPACE SECURITY

An interview with Ms. Theresa Hitchens on: SPACE SECURITY

Theresa Hitchens has been Director of UNIDIR since January 2009. Previously, she was director of the Center for Defense Information and led its Space Security Project, in cooperation with Secure World Foundation. The author of Future Security in Space: Charting a Cooperative Course, she has written on space and nuclear arms control issues for a number of journals and publications. She serves on the editorial board of the Bulletin of the Atomic Scientists.

Theresa has had a long career in journalism, with a focus on military, defence industry and NATO affairs. She was Director of Research at the British American Security Information Council, a think tank based in Washington and London. Prior to that, she was with Defense News from 1988 to 2000, including five years as the newspaper's first Brussels bureau chief from 1989 to 1993, and as the Editor from 1998 to 2000. From 1983 to 1988, she worked at Inside Washington Publishers, covering issues from nuclear waste to electronic warfare and military space.

An interview with Dr. Kathleen Sullivan on: DISARMAMENT AND NON-PROLIFERATION EDUCATION

An interview with Dr. Kathleen Sullivan on: DISARMAMENT AND NON-PROLIFERATION EDUCATION

Kathleen Sullivan, PhD., is a disarmament educator and activist who has been engaged in nuclear issues for over 20 years. Currently, she is the Program Director for Hibakusha Stories, an arts based initiative that brings atomic bomb survivors into New York City High Schools to share their testimonies. She has been an education consultant to the United Nations Office for Disarmament Affairs in New York, and has produced 2 films about survivors from Nagasaki: The Last Atomic Bomb (2005) and The Ultimate Wish (coming soon).