Anti-Personnel Landmines Convention

Twelfth Meeting of the States Parties (12MSP)

The Eleventh Meeting of the States Parties (Phnom Penh, Cambodia, 28 November - 2 December 2011) decided that the 12MSP will take place in Geneva, Switzerland during the week of 3 to 7 December 2012. The Conference also agreed to designate His Excellency Ambassador Matjaž Kovacic, Permanent Representative of Slovenia, as President of the Twelfth Meeting of the States Parties.

Pursuant to resolution 66/29 of the General Assembly of the United Nations and in accordance with the established practice, the Secretary-General of the United Nations is undertaking all preparations necessary to convene the 12MSP. Accordingly, a note verbale by the Secretary-General on convening the 12MSP was circulated, as follows:

An invitation letter was also addressed to the international organizations by Ms Angela Kane, High Representative for Disarmament Affairs.

The 12MSP will be held at the United Nations Office at Geneva.

To access the official website of the APLC Implementation Support Unit, please click here.

Official documents of the meeting

Note: Pursuant to the established practice, the basic official documents of the APLC MSP are made available after their approval by the meetings of the Standing Committees of the Convention.

Meetings of the Standing Committees

The Eleventh Meeting of the States Parties agreed to set the dates of the 2012 meetings of the Standing Committees from 21-25 May 2012 and identified the following States Parties as the Standing Committee Co-Chairs and Rapporteurs until the end of the Twelfth Meeting of the States Parties:

  • Mine Clearance, Mine-Risk Education and Mine-Action Technologies: Indonesia and Zambia (Co-Chairs); and Netherlands (Rapporteur);
  • Victim Assistance and Socio-Economic Reintegration: Algeria and Croatia (Co-Chairs); Colombia (Rapporteur);
  • Stockpile Destruction: Germany and Romania (Co-Chairs); Nigeria (Rapporteur);
  • General Status and Operation of the Convention: Norway and Peru (Co-Chairs); Bulgaria (Rapporteur).
  • Resources, Assistance and Cooperation: Albania and Thailand (Co-Chairs).

For more information, please click here.