Pursuant to General Assembly Resolution 61/89, on 28 September 2007 the Secretary General appointed a Group of Governmental Experts from the following 28 countries: Algeria, Argentina, Australia, Brazil, China, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Egypt, Finland, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Mexico, Nigeria, Pakistan, Romania, Russian Federation, South Africa, Spain, Switzerland, Ukraine, United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and United States.

The GGE will meet in three sessions in New York, as follows:

First session: 11 - 15 February 2008

Second session: 12 -16 May 2008

Third session: 28 July - 8 August 2008