Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones

Treaties Involved in the Nuclear-Weapon-Free Zones

The following treaties form the basis for the existing NWFZs:  

Mongolia’s self-declared nuclear-weapon-free status has been recognized internationally through the adoption of UN General Assembly resolution 55/33S on “Mongolia's international security and nuclear weapon free status.”
Other treaties that also deal with the denuclearization of certain areas are:

  • Antarctic Treaty
  • Outer Space Treaty
    Treaty on Principles Governing the Activities of States in the Exploration and Use of Outer Space, including the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies ()
  • Moon Agreement
    Agreement Governing the Activities of States on the Moon and Other Celestial Bodies
  • Seabed Treaty
    Treaty on the Prohibition of the Emplacement of Nuclear Weapons and Other Weapons of Mass Destruction on the Sea-Bed and the Ocean Floor and in the Subsoil Thereof

The text and status of all the above-mentioned treaties are available on the UNODA Treaty Database.




Back to NWFZ